- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

[Articles Home]  [Add Article]  

Four New Entities Placed On DXCC List:

from The ARRL Letter on October 14, 2010
Add a comment about this article!

Four New Entities Placed On DXCC List:

With the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles on October 10, two now-deleted DXCC entities are now four new DXCC entities, effective October 10, 2010. The island pair of Bonaire and Curaçao (PJ2 and PJ4, the Leeward Islands) and the three-island group of Sint Maarten, Saba and St Eustatius (PJ5, PJ6 and PJ7, the Windward Islands) have been deleted from the DXCC list of active entities and replaced with four new entities. Not since the aftermath of World War II -- with so many new European entities -- and the break-up of the French colonies in Africa in the early 1960s -- have so many new DXCC entities come into existence all at once.

On October 10, the US Department of State recognized the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles, placing the new entities on its Dependencies and Areas of Special Sovereignty List, saying that "Curaçao and Sint Maarten (the Dutch two-fifths of the island of Saint Martin) became autonomous territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Bonaire, Saba, and St Eustatius now fall under the direct administration of the Netherlands."

According to the DXCC rules, entities may be added or removed from the DXCC List as a result of political or geographic change. These new entities qualified to be listed on the DXCC List under Section 2, Rule 1(b) of the DXCC rules: "The entity contains a permanent population, is administered by a local government and is located at least 800 km from its parent. To satisfy the 'permanent population' and 'administered by a local government' criteria of this sub-section, an Entity must be listed on either (a) the US Department of State's list of 'Dependencies and Areas of Special Sovereignty' as having a local 'Administrative Center,' or (b) the United Nations list of 'Non-Self-Governing Territories.'"

With so many DXCC entities all coming into being at the same time, many amateurs made their way to Curaçao (PJ2T, PJ2/OH1VR, PJ2/PB2T, PJ2A and PJ2MI), Sint Maarten (PJ7E, PJ7MF), Bonaire (PJ4B, PJ4D, PJ4I, PJ4LS and PJ4W), Saba (PJ6A) and St Eustatius (PJ5/AA4NC, PJ5/AH6HY and PJ5/K1XM) to put these new ones on the air. Beginning at 0400 UTC on October 10, the airwaves were filled with those looking to snag these new entities; just days after the entities became "live," stations on the islands had made more than 15,000 QSOs on SSB and CW.

Per the ARRL DXCC Desk, no confirmations for these new entities will be accepted until after January 1, 2011; other administrative changes will be announced as they are finalized. Look for more information on the ARRL Web site, in upcoming editions of The ARRL Letter and in the December 2010 issue of QST.


The ARRL Letter

There are no comments on this article: Post One

Email Subscription
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

Other News Articles
Boy Scouts to Hold Event in Copperas Cove:
Radio Club Reflects on Past Accomplishments, Looks to Future:
Kansas City Firefighter Uses Ham Radio Skills to Help Puerto Rico:
RadFxSat (Fox-1B) FM Satellite Set to Launch in November:
Propagation Forecast Bulletin #42 de K7RA: