- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

[Articles Home]  [Add Article]  

The Yasme Foundation Announces 2012 YASME Excellence Award Recipients:

from The ARRL Letter on December 13, 2012
Add a comment about this article!

The Yasme Foundation Announces 2012 YASME Excellence Award Recipients and Supporting Grants:

The Yasme Excellence Awards are given to individuals who through their own service, creativity, effort and dedication, have made a significant contribution to Amateur Radio. Their contribution may be in recognition of technical, operating or organizational achievement. The Yasme Excellence Award is in the form of a cash grant and an engraved crystal globe.

The Yasme Foundation has recognized the following individuals "in order to inspire them and others on behalf of Amateur Radio now and in the future."

- George Fremin, K5TR; Tree Tyree, N6TR; Trey Garlough, N5KO, and Scott Neader, KA9FOX, for their contributions to many infrastructure projects that benefit the ham community at large.
- ARRL Education and Technology Program Director Mark Spencer, WA8SME, for his instrumental work in the ARRL Teachers Institute on Wireless Technology and other training efforts, development of PIC microcontroller projects and books for amateurs, as well as working with leaders in student and scientific teams in applying Amateur Radio to scientific projects and experiments.
- Champ Muangamphun, E21EIC, and Pornchai Semjang, HS2JFW, for leadership in Thailand's amateur community, especially during the recent flooding which helped open the door to the new Thai HF licensing and the enhanced stature of Amateur Radio with the Thai government. - Former NCJ Editor Carl Luetzelschwab, K9LA, and Tomas Hood, NW7US, for their sustained education of the amateur community regarding propagation, solar and geomagnetic physics.
- David Freese, W1HKJ, for creating and maintaining the freeware software package Fldigi, probably the most widely used digital communication software in ham radio and a frequent gateway for new hams who are more familiar with computer-based communications.
- Former ARRL Assistant Technical Editor Dean Straw, N6BV, for his contributions to amateur antenna system design and the development of software tools, such as HFTA to optimize system design.
- Peter Martinez, G3PLX, and Pawel Jalocha, SP9VRC, for the development of PSK31, a widely used digital mode entirely invented by amateurs that is enabling many amateurs to successfully use HF with very modest stations. - Arie Kleingeld, PA3A; Ad Van Ginneken, PA8AD, and Arie Noordzij, PA3AN, for their sustained contributions to the Mercy Ships Project

The Board of Directors also announces supporting grants to the following projects: WRTC 2014, the World Wide Radio Operators Foundation (WWROF, Club Log, the NCDXF Beacon Project, Yasme scholarships (administered by the ARRL) and the Amateur Radio Association of Kosovo (SHARK).

The Yasme Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized to conduct scientific and educational projects related to Amateur Radio, including DXing and the introduction and promotion of Amateur Radio in developing countries.


The ARRL Letter

There are no comments on this article: Post One

Email Subscription
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

Other News Articles
Nevada County Amateur Radio Services Operators Assist in Fire Emergencies:
Akron Man Survives Hurricane, Returns Home Thanks to Kenny Chesney:
Scientists in Alaska Attempt to Produce Artificial Aurora:
Ham Talk Live #86 -- Satellites:
IARU Watching Wireless Charging Technology: