- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

[Articles Home]  [Add Article]  

ARRL Board Names Award Winners, Honorees:

from The ARRL Letter on August 7, 2014
Add a comment about this article!

ARRL Board Names Award Winners, Honorees:

The Board named award winners and honorees during its July 21-22 meeting in Hartford, Connecticut.

The 2014 Hiram Percy Maxim Award -- the League's top youth honor -- went to Padraig Lysandrou, KC9UUS, of Bloomington, Indiana. The recipient of a Goldfarb Scholarship, Lysandrou (left) was cited for his demonstrated passion for HF DXing, his high school Amateur Radio club activity, his service as Indiana Assistant Section Manager for Youth Activities, and for actively sharing his love of Amateur Radio by being a presenter Dayton Hamvention and elsewhere. Lysandrou was the recipient of May 2013 QST Cover Plaque Award for his article "A Crazy Idea: DXpedition to Cyprus."

- The 2014 ARRL Technical Innovation Award went to Warren C. Pratt, NR0V, of Santa Cruz, California. He was cited for his research leading to the development of PureSignal, "an adaptive baseband pre-distortion algorithm used to improve the linearity of amplifiers and reduce intermodulation distortion products emitted by software-defined transmitters."

- The joint recipients of the 2014 Herb S. Brier Instructor of the Year Award were Brad Amacker, N5MZ, of Petal, Mississippi, and Bill Finnegan, NR8I, of Marion, Ohio. Amacker has taught at 16 Amateur Radio license instruction classes that resulted in some 100 students becoming Amateur Radio licensees, and he's been active in mentoring new licensees. Finnegan, who has taught 21 Amateur Radio license instruction classes in the past decade resulting in 60 new ham radio licensees, was cited for "his patience with students, especially those struggling with comprehension of more difficult radio theory."

- The joint recipients of the 2013 Doug DeMaw, W1FB, Technical Excellence Award were Kai Siwiak, KE4PT, of Coral Springs, Florida, and Bruce Pontius, N0ADL, of Scottsdale, Arizona. Both were credited with "distinguished lifelong Amateur Radio careers, both on the air and in test and measurement respects." They were specifically cited for their December 2013 QST article, "How Much 'Punch' Can You Get from Different Modes?" The article characterized and quantified the typical performance of various analog and digital modes to shed light on their performance and limitations.

- The Board elected Bruce J. Frahm, K0BJ, an Honorary Vice President. Frahm served a total of 20 years as Midwest Division Vice Director, Director, and ARRL Second Vice President.

The Board granted the title of "ARRL Receptionist Emerita" to Penny Harts, N1NAG (left), who retired on July 31 following 46 years of service at ARRL Headquarters -- the longest tenure of any current Headquarters staff member. The Board's resolution recounted that after joining the staff in 1968, "Penny quickly established herself as the friendly voice and face of the ARRL to countless callers and visitors to Newington." She also earned her Amateur Radio license -- eventually upgrading to Amateur Extra class -- became active in local radio club affairs, and served as an ARRL Volunteer Examiner at more than 100 exam sessions. She "capped her career by providing invaluable assistance at the ARRL National Centennial Convention," the Board said, and, over the years, has been "an inspiring friend to her colleagues" as well as to volunteers and Board members.

- The Board extended its very best wishes to ARRL Chief Development Officer Mary M. Hobart, K1MMH, who also retired on July 31, after 13 years of "outstanding service, above and beyond the call to the members of the ARRL, present and future." Among her other accomplishments, Hobart was credited with developing the Second Century Campaign Read more


The ARRL Letter

There are no comments on this article: Post One

Email Subscription
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

Other News Articles
200 Area Boy Scouts Gather for 'Jamboree-on-the-Air':
Bridgewater Man Works to Keep Raritan Valley Radio Club Alive:
35th Annual Hamfest Brings Radio Fans Together for Shop and Swap:
Martin F. Jue Joins Amateur Radio Roundtable:
Amateur Radio Operators Converge for Hamfest: