- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

[Articles Home]  [Add Article]  

Nebraska, West Central Floriday Elect New Section Managers:

from The ARRL Letter, Vol 23, No 47 on December 4, 2004
Add a comment about this article!

Nebraska, West Central Floriday Elect New Section Managers:

In the only three contested races in the current Section Manager (SM) election cycle, the ARRL Nebraska and West Central Florida Sections have elected new section leaders. New York City-Long Island Section members re-elected their incumbent SM.

In Nebraska, Matthew Anderson, KA0BOJ, outpolled Dan Steinhoff, W7UP, 270 to 80, to become SM there. From Ashland, Anderson has been licensed for 28 years and is ARRL Emergency Coordinator for Saunders County. He will succeed Bill McCollum, KE0XQ, the SM for the past decade, who decided not to seek another term.

In West Central Florida, Gerald "Dee" Turner, N4GD, of Pinellas Park, was the winner over John Townsley, AE4GB, 495 to 224. Licensed since 1991, Turner is vice president of the St Petersburg Amateur Radio Club where he has taught Amateur Radio classes and serves as an ARRL volunteer examiner. He'll take over from Dave Armbrust, AE4MR, West Central Florida's SM since the sectionís establishment in 2000, who did not seek a new term.

Incumbent New York City-Long Island SM George Tranos, N2GA, of Bellport, overcame a challenge from Steve Barreres, K2CX, 534 to 351 votes. Tranos has served as SM since 1998.

In Eastern Massachusetts, Mike Neilsen, W1MPN, was unopposed in his bid to become the new SM. He'll take over from Phil Temples, K9HI, who didn't run for another term.

Incumbent SMs in six other ARRL Sections ran unopposed and were declared elected for new two-year terms. They include Dale Bagley, K0KY, Missouri; Rich Beaver, N3SRJ, Western Pennsylvania; Jim Boehner, N2ZZ, South Carolina; Tom Dick, KF2GC, Northern New York; Jean Priestley, KA2YKN, Southern New Jersey; Dale Williams, WA8EFK, Michigan.

Ballots were counted and verified November 23 at ARRL Headquarters. Terms of office for successful candidates begin January 1, 2005.


The ARRL Letter Vol. 23, No. 47 December 3, 2004

There are no comments on this article: Post One

Email Subscription
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

Other News Articles
Nevada County Amateur Radio Services Operators Assist in Fire Emergencies:
Akron Man Survives Hurricane, Returns Home Thanks to Kenny Chesney:
Scientists in Alaska Attempt to Produce Artificial Aurora:
Ham Talk Live #86 -- Satellites:
IARU Watching Wireless Charging Technology: