The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: CW SAD BUT TRUE ON THE WAY OUT THE DOOR  (Read 67269 times)
ONAIR

Ignore
« Reply #240 on: January 28, 2017, 03:48:57 PM »

There's a new Face Book group just started up a couple weeks ago called Slow Speed CW....there's already over 500 sign-ups. They range from "I'm just starting out" to " I've been out of it for 20 years and itching to get back in".
They are trying.....I believe that's a strong signal towards the interest in CW right now.
  And now there is also a Facebook group called "QSO now", where you can post the time and frequency where you are calling CQ, and can immediately get loads of hams to listen for your signals!!
VK5EEE

Ignore
« Reply #241 on: January 28, 2017, 05:51:23 PM »

God preserve amateur radio from the Internet and keep it far away from us!

Long Live Real Human CW and wishing you many happy CW QSO - 77 - CW Forever

Support CW and join CW clubs. QTT: FIST#1124, HSC#1437, UFT#728, RCWC#982, SKCC#15007, CWOPS#1714, 30CW#1,
OZ8AGB

Ignore
« Reply #242 on: January 29, 2017, 04:58:25 AM »

VK4EEE so what are we doing in here??  Huh
VK5EEE

Ignore
« Reply #243 on: January 29, 2017, 05:13:05 AM »

Keeping the two separate. I like my Amateur Radio to be independent from the Internet: no spots, no completion of QSO (cheating, e.g. the JT modes). Posting when you are calling CQ to get "loads of hams to listen for your signals" is the problem why we have unlimited pile ups with each vying to create the largest possible pile up to wipe out the band and boast about it, which is what some DX expeditions do, instead of calling CQ and having a reasonable amount of callers: if they have 10 calling them at once, they cannot work all 10 any faster than they can if there are 100 or 1000 calling. The combination of Internet when doing Amateur Radio is unnecessary.