Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: ICOM 7610 on MARS  (Read 21769 times)
K5AJ
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« on: January 20, 2017, 12:58:47 PM »

Hi,
     On the advice of another ham, I'm looking to upgrade
from a Yaesu 1200 to the new Icom 7610. 

     Given that the 7610 isn't released yet, is the 7600
usable on all MARS digital modes?  I would assume so,
but need to make sure.


Thanks and 73,
Jack
Logged
WD8DBY
Member

Posts: 97




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2017, 10:23:08 AM »

Hi,
     On the advice of another ham, I'm looking to upgrade
from a Yaesu 1200 to the new Icom 7610. 

     Given that the 7610 isn't released yet, is the 7600
usable on all MARS digital modes?  I would assume so,
but need to make sure.


Thanks and 73,
Jack

Recommend you confirm with the manufacturer that the radio can be modified for out of amateur band operation.

v/r

Paul
Logged
K5AJ
Member

Posts: 14




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2017, 06:15:10 AM »

Hi Paul,
Thanks much for replying, great to hear from you!!!
Quote
Recommend you confirm with the manufacturer that the radio can be modified for out of amateur band operation.
Yes, indeed, I found an easy MARS mod for the 7600,
and will have to check with Gigaparts or Icom to make
sure same is true for the new model when it comes out.

If the 7600 supports the SignalLink USB or other
sound cards, then perhaps the various PSK and other
required digital modes can be achieved.  Rumor is, from
what I've been told, that the new 7610 is a vastly
improved 7600.  Unfortunately the specs are not
yet available, as far as I can tell.

Big time 73, Paul

Jack

Logged
N9VMO
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2017, 10:41:57 PM »

Looking at the specs for the 7600, it has two USB ports, so there is no need for a Signalink.  Just run a USB cable from the radio to the computer, load the USB drivers on the PC and run your favorite soundcard software (Fldigi or HRD) and you are off to the races.

I have been running the 7200 for a couple of years now and have never needed a Signalink or any other external soundcard.

Hope this helps.

Joe
N9VMO/AFA5JO/AFR5C
Logged
AB7R
Member

Posts: 228




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2017, 10:42:53 AM »

Even though they may share a similar model number....  76xx....the two radio will have drastically different architecture.  If the 7610 is usable on MARS frequencies it may be by uploading different firmware from Icom and not by modifying hardware in the radio itself.  At least that is how other SDRs manage MARS operation. 

73
Greg
AB7R
Logged
AK4SK
Member

Posts: 206




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2017, 01:42:51 PM »

I have an IC-7600 that I've used for MARS, I also performed the MARS mod myself following instructions from Icom. As was stated, it has a built in sound card and CAT control via USB so the set up is very simple. It is a very good radio for digital modes and good on voice also.

73 Chris AK4SK
Logged
W4KVW
Member

Posts: 68




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2017, 08:52:21 AM »

Looking at the specs for the 7600, it has two USB ports, so there is no need for a Signalink.  Just run a USB cable from the radio to the computer, load the USB drivers on the PC and run your favorite soundcard software (Fldigi or HRD) and you are off to the races.

I have been running the 7200 for a couple of years now and have never needed a Signalink or any other external soundcard.

Hope this helps.

Joe
N9VMO/AFA5JO/AFR5C

I also own an ICOM 7600 & wondered if it will also run JT65? Thanks for any assistance.

Clayton
W4KVW
Logged
AK4SK
Member

Posts: 206




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2017, 09:27:54 AM »



I also own an ICOM 7600 & wondered if it will also run JT65? Thanks for any assistance.

Clayton
W4KVW
[/quote]

An IC-7600 will run any sound card digital mode (such at JT65, WSPR, Olivia, MT63, etc.) with no problems.

73 Chris AK4SK
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!