The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Alternative to Skype  (Read 3883 times)
K0IZ

Ignore
« on: February 11, 2017, 07:01:13 AM »

I have been remoting for six years and been using Skype.  Works ok.  But I have to have a PC at the radio end to run skype.  Windows being windows, there can be problems.  Win10 updates, security program updates, rebooting, etc.  Maybe someone can direct me to a somewhat different way:

I would like to use software on a PC at the operator end, with headset.  Basically same as Skype.  Audio would be directed via a virtual com port to my serial server at the radio end.  Serial server has a little box that converts to audio and connected to radio (K3).  IE, at radio end, no PC.  As alternative to serial server, something plugged into my ethernet.  Basically like a VoIP setup but without using phone numbers.

Any ideas?
AC7CW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2017, 04:47:04 PM »

The RCForb server and client software works fine. Skype is not needed

Novice 1958, 20WPM Extra now... (and get off my lawn)
K0IZ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2017, 06:04:21 PM »

RCForb server still requires a PC.  I'm trying to eliminate need for a PC at the radio.  Sorta like the RemoteRig unit, which has a built in codec.  The perfect solution would be a small box at operator, connects to ethernet.  Jacks for headset audio in/out.  Similar box at radio, also connects to ethernet.  Jacks to radio for audio in/out.
WD4HXG

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2017, 07:05:01 PM »

Have you looked at the following product:

1258MKIIS

It is hardware with a head end box and remote box.
While hardware can seize up it is fairly easy to use
a remote switch to power cycle either via a telco
twisted pair circuit or a remote rf switch based off
of the pager infrastructure. No pesky OS to get its
panties in a wad because some file was not closed
properly.