The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why Trackers?  (Read 10921 times)
N4SRN

Ignore
« on: March 12, 2017, 08:15:36 AM »

Just wondering why one might use a Tracker, like TinyTrak4/GPS for instance. I'm new to APRS and have a car/mobile, fixed base and HT, so am not sure what a Tracker adds to the mix. Thanks for the help!

Bret/N4SRN

Bret/N4SRN
Bedford, NH  USA
WB8LBZ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 05:33:17 AM »

Hi Bret,
   There could be several benefits to having a tracker on your vehicle. I have had some of my local ham friends track me on a long trip from El Paso to Michigan. I could see using it for county identification in a state QSO Party. It could show progress on a trip to a Hamfest where several hams from one place go to a distant Hamfest. I also have a small personal tracker that can be put on a backpack should I decide to go mountain topping.

73, Larry, WB8LBZ
El Paso, TX
NA4IT

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2017, 06:08:02 AM »

The answer is found in the definition of APRS... Automatic Position Reporting System...

Other than a few radios with TNC's built in, most cannot send out an APRS packet.
N2XIW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2017, 08:43:10 AM »

Umm, that's not the definition of APRS, which actually stands for Automatic Packet Reporting System.

The answer is found in the definition of APRS... Automatic Position Reporting System...

Other than a few radios with TNC's built in, most cannot send out an APRS packet.
WB8LBZ

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2017, 10:44:42 AM »

It was once Position and is now Packet. I have several TinyTrak3/Gps combos that work with a regular 2 Meter radio in the mobile. I have a Byonics AIO (All in one) for foot tracking and I have APRS-IS for Windows 32 on a home computer that shows my house. I can check activity from APRS.FI or OpenAPRS.Net from any internet computer.