The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Search, pounce and destroy  (Read 11297 times)
K1HMS

Ignore
« on: July 19, 2017, 02:08:09 PM »

On the subject of ethics and contesting: I'm new to CW, I can copy 17 wpm of clean code with a QSO rate of 29/hr and 59/hr at peaks but pile ups are impossible. Working 13 Colonies on 40m I would be working off a small pile up of 5-6 stations and another 13K station would call CQ on top me, clean out the stack like a buzz saw, and disappear until next time. It happened 4 times. With a kW and my antenna I know he could hear me, and the band was wide open.

I wouldn't think this was an acceptable approach, I'm I right? Is it common?

Over the night I did get several QRLs and a TU 73 when I replied yes. I appreciate those OMs.
N3HEE

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2017, 06:14:12 AM »

No. That is not acceptable behavior or operating procedure.  Especially if he could hear you.  Maybe he couldn't hear you ?  Either way QRL ? is the right thing to do before starting up.  You can't poach someone else's pile up while they are still running the pile up.   That op should have found a clear frequency nearby and set up shop.  He would have gotten most of your pile up that way. 

Joe
N3HEE
CW Academy Advisor (Level II)
N3QE

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2017, 08:13:16 AM »

My interpretation especially if they just popped up for a few minutes then went away, it was some kind of malicious slim and not an actual 13 colonies station that stole your frequency for a few minutes. A real 13 colonies special event station would camp out for an hour to many hours on the same frequency.