The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Swan 270b no rx or tx hum changes w volume  (Read 3245 times)
KG7HVR

Ignore
« on: September 08, 2017, 03:49:06 PM »

I picked up a swan 270b for $75 it didn't come with the cord so I thought soldered acord on to the back of the jones plug-and jumpered the two different spots ( pins 7-8 and pins5-6) to test it out. it has a hum that increases with the volume it doesn't transmit or receive although I did adjust the bias and was able to see some activity. so if you pull the audio tube out the hum goes away so I'm not sure that it's a capacitor issue. the capacitors have been replaced by someone else. also the meter pegs all the way full scale when in receive mode. I have the schematic and I'm studying it to try and figure out what's wrong. I'm wondering if maybe there's a problem with the oscillator? I don't really know where to start on this so any advice from all you Swan experts out there would be great!!
I'm going to go through the troubleshooting chart and test for the proper voltage in all the places and see if I come up with anything weird I have an oscilloscope and I don't know where to really test to look for the hum or issues
 All tubes glow
KG7HVR

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 09:34:57 PM »

the swan 270b manual on bama has alot of mistakes or its for the 270 non b. I tested all the voltages at tubes. most were normal however i saw lower than rated high voltages like 187v instead of 237 onv11 pin 5. 193v insted of 250v on pin6 of 12be6 vfo amp. same with the driver . but certain tubes  are listed wrong so im not sure how well i can rely on the data given
bottom line lower voltages in places, higher in other. voltage on pins that should be zero. so maybe the cause is bad shorted tube?
KAPT4560

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2017, 06:43:10 AM »