Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 6146??? 6146B - w  (Read 1426 times)
KB2WVO
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« on: September 10, 2017, 11:07:33 AM »

wondering can 6146B's / 6146W's run in place of 6146/6146A's Huh   manual doesnt say a thing on if yes or no..
HK SB110.
Logged
WA5VGO
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2017, 12:06:24 PM »

They'll work fine.
Logged
KB2WVO
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2017, 12:49:10 PM »

They'll work fine.

awsome ty ...
i did try them.. seems radio is outputin only around 50 watts... i know the tubes are good as i took them out of my 101ZD.. they tuned to 100 there..

it might be just that only 50 watts on 6. the manul doesnt give much info .. at least the one i found so far.. grrrr lol ..
Logged
K1ZJH
Member

Posts: 3176




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2017, 01:52:17 PM »

What is the grid current in tune-up?  Can you drive to at least a few mA of grid on those tubes?  This could be a driver, alignment, or other issue.

Pete
Logged
WA5VGO
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2017, 05:13:36 PM »

What is the grid current in tune-up?  Can you drive to at least a few mA of grid on those tubes?  This could be a driver, alignment, or other issue.

Pete

Agree. See if you can draw grid current. If you can't, you don't enough drive.
Logged
KB2WVO
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2017, 05:18:23 PM »

radio meter shows 250ma. she seems to tune up... and the MAs do adjust. the output is in a xtern watt/swr. SX200 thats trustworthy. i checked it with other meters n radios n such ..
the W's were in a 101zd givin to me from a ham who had gotten it with the cough 11m job done to it. grrrrr.....
so they might be tired... tho they did do 100 on 80m in the 101zd..

Logged
WW7KE
Member

Posts: 550




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2017, 06:34:25 PM »

Back in my Novice days (1970-71), I swapped the 6146 in my Heathkit DX-60B for a 6146B.  Worked perfectly, and supposedly could even be tuned up to run 120 watts input instead of the "regulation" 90.  Never tried it, though.
Logged

He speaks fluent PSK31...  One QSO with him earns you 5BDXCC...  His Wouff Hong has two Wouffs... Hiram Percy Maxim called HIM "The Old Man..."  He is... The Most Interesting Ham In The World!
K1ZJH
Member

Posts: 3176




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2017, 07:16:23 PM »

radio meter shows 250ma. she seems to tune up... and the MAs do adjust. the output is in a xtern watt/swr. SX200 thats trustworthy. i checked it with other meters n radios n such ..
the W's were in a 101zd givin to me from a ham who had gotten it with the cough 11m job done to it. grrrrr.....
so they might be tired... tho they did do 100 on 80m in the 101zd..



What about GRID current??

Pete
Logged
KB2WVO
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2017, 10:19:19 PM »

radio meter shows 250ma. she seems to tune up... and the MAs do adjust. the output is in a xtern watt/swr. SX200 thats trustworthy. i checked it with other meters n radios n such ..
the W's were in a 101zd givin to me from a ham who had gotten it with the cough 11m job done to it. grrrrr.....
so they might be tired... tho they did do 100 on 80m in the 101zd..



What about GRID current??

Pete
the radio meter  shows grid Huh iam still learning some of this.. tuning up radio . sset final knob to show max meter reading. it does do that. ...
if i need to check from in the radio.. how to  Huh
so grid no idea to be truthful.

goin to make video and post to youtube... link soon..
« Last Edit: September 10, 2017, 10:26:32 PM by KB2WVO » Logged
KB2WVO
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2017, 10:54:23 PM »

heres a video.. if anything you like to see to help give a idea.. let me know. ill try and do a video for it..
these same valves.. 6146W's in a 101ZD show about 50 watts on 10m and 100 watts on 75m... no idea if it helps....the 6146A's that been in radio for over 20 plus years are only giving about 35 watts on 6m...
 
https://youtu.be/ARlLnCEvrQY
« Last Edit: September 10, 2017, 10:57:04 PM by KB2WVO » Logged
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 8005




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2017, 02:01:40 AM »

6146W is a mechanically ruggedized 6146A for use in equipment subject to shock and vibration. It has a 25 watt plate dissipation rating - some people say 35 watts like the 6146B, but I haven't found a data sheet that says that. Or been given a lead to one that says that...

6146B is 35 watt plate dissipation tube. Claimed to be directly interchangeable with 6146 or 6146A, but in some Motorola and Collins transmitters, it wasn't.
Logged
K1ZJH
Member

Posts: 3176




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2017, 06:06:44 AM »

Had to dig out the manual... looks like they skipped the grid current function, and just go by being able to drive the plates to 250 mA.  Usually you'd want to see around 2 mA drive on those grids, but the SB-110 has no provision for metering grid current in tune up.

Pete
Logged
KB2WVO
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2017, 11:06:18 AM »

is it possiable ?? valves go bad on some bands?  as they do 100w on 75m but 50w on 10m and and 6m ??
iam still learnin on this stuff. soo i have no idea..
Logged
K1ZJH
Member

Posts: 3176




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2017, 11:17:57 AM »

If they made 100 watts output on ten meters, then they are probably good tubes.

There are too many variables to answer your question.   Grid drive, plate and screen voltages, state of the SB-110 radio's alignment, or other issues. And, unless you can verify the wattmeter's accuracy,  or whether the RF impedance of the antenna is even close to 50 ohms--which directly affects the wattmeter's accuracy, this will be a hard question to answer without guessing. 

Pete
Logged
KB2WVO
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2017, 12:29:37 PM »

If they made 100 watts output on ten meters, then they are probably good tubes.

There are too many variables to answer your question.   Grid drive, plate and screen voltages, state of the SB-110 radio's alignment, or other issues. And, unless you can verify the wattmeter's accuracy,  or whether the RF impedance of the antenna is even close to 50 ohms--which directly affects the wattmeter's accuracy, this will be a hard question to answer without guessing.  

Pete

the antenna is 50 ohms. the watt meter has been checked with other meters also the ones radios . they all matched. the tubes did 100 watts in a 101zd on 75m. not 10m. 10 meters was 50 watts.
i took the valves out of it to see what the sb110 would do and see if the 6146As that were in it were good. so the 6146Ws do a lil better but they could be bad also ...
as said the 6146Ws from the 101ZD did 100 watts on 75m same radio 10m did 50ish watts..
in the sb110 the 6146Ws do 50ish watts.

dummy load , 2 diff antennas.. all the same 50 watts.

PS:/// on the SB110 has a switch marked... 50.0 - 50.5 - 51.0 -51.5
so i set it to 51.5 on the switch ... then the dial in middle is at 40....  puts it at 51.540  it puts out 100 watts...

no idea what this meens.. but hope someone knows ..
SWR is 2 at 51.540 and 1.3 at 50.125

« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 12:43:10 PM by KB2WVO » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!