The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Signal Reporting  (Read 2438 times)
KD9FRQ

Ignore
« on: September 16, 2017, 06:08:45 AM »

Being new, I am still learning and my equipment is still lacking a few pieces.  Example, I do not have a working external SWR and Watt meter anymore.  The one on my MFJ-969 Tuner quit.  The meter is working on my rig and I have another tuner attached.

I had my first HF SSB contact the other day. The other side was coming in a little broken by static but understandable in the rig speaker (I am sure an external speaker and headphones would be even better).  He told me I was 599 but I told him he was a little weak at S7 and broken by static.  What should I have told him? 488?

So, to my question....what is good way to provide signal report back to the other party? By this, I mean how do I determine what a 599 signal is? 

1) When using SSB?
2) When using digital mode like PSK31?

I look forward to the replies.  This stuff should be on the exam.

Ed, KD9FRQ "Freq" Radio
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2017, 06:20:34 AM »

http://www.radioing.com/hamstart/rst.html

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
G8YMW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2017, 06:44:41 AM »

On ssb you do not normally give the "T" (tone) report unless there is an aurora distorting his audio.
Then you would give (assuming a strong signal) 59A or 59 Alpha.
However, in an HF contest, they get pretty well hacked off if you do not give a 59.

Data modes is normally RST

I think in your case 58 with Static or the 48 and tell him you have static interference

73 de Tony
Windows 10:  Making me profane since March 2017
KG5AHC

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2017, 06:51:55 AM »

Welcome to the world of HF   I have been here for just over three years myself..  here are my thoughts: