The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't decode FT8, but can decode JT65 signal  (Read 6230 times)
HS0ZIB

Ignore
« on: September 16, 2017, 06:06:25 PM »

This is my first attempt to decode an FT8 signal.

I'm running version 1.8.0-rc2 of WSJT-X.  I am receiving a clear FT8 signal on 17 mb.  (I know that it is an FT8 signal because of the 15-second transmit time).

I'm not overrunning the microphone input - I have set input levels at 0dB and in WSJT-X, the input level is always in the green level, at about 35dB.

The signal will not decode!  When the blue decode button flashes just before the end of the 15 seconds, no text is displayed in the text window.

My laptop clock is synchronised using an atomic clock synchronisation application.

If I then tune a few KHz up to a weak JT65 signal, and switch the WSJT-X mode to JT65, the signal is decoded fine!!

What's up?  Why can't I decode the FT-8 signal (or any FT-8 signal, weak or strong, that I've tried)

Any suggestions?  I've tried to reduce the input levels even more, but there is no decode at any level that I've tried.

K0UA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2017, 06:26:06 PM »

Increase the input level,  Mine runs about 50 to 60 at all times when actually decoding signals.  Resting at about 35 with absolutely no signal.  I suspect you don't enough signal going to the pc.
HS0ZIB

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2017, 06:45:31 PM »

I've tried with an increased signal level.  Tested different increases until well into the red.

No decode, nada...

JT65 decode is fine ...
HS0ZIB

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2017, 07:36:08 PM »

Wait!  Maybe I have the answer.

From this thread:

http://www.eham.net/ehamforum/smf/index.php/topic,116476.0.html