Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 10 and 15 meter bands  (Read 17711 times)
KD7HNN
Member

Posts: 60




Ignore
« Reply #30 on: October 29, 2017, 09:39:43 AM »

You can always find a QSO on EchoLink!  Sometimes local, sometimes on the other side of the globe.  www.EchoLink.org


not so sure about that one - - last time I'd check in:
there was lots of OPs Listening - supposedly - - but none of them ever would Reply to Any call(s).

   Try the conference servers.  There is usually activity on some of them!

Or Skype. It's the same thing.
Logged
W1VT
Member

Posts: 2491




Ignore
« Reply #31 on: October 29, 2017, 07:06:03 PM »

Got the last four countries I needed on 10M to work Digital DXCC on eight bands.  With wires strung between trees. In one week. Grin

Zack W1VT
« Last Edit: October 29, 2017, 07:09:46 PM by W1VT » Logged
AF5CC
Member

Posts: 215




Ignore
« Reply #32 on: November 08, 2017, 09:33:57 PM »

You can listen for the 10 meter beacons between 28.200 and 28.300 if you want to know if the band is open.
Logged
WD4ELG
Member

Posts: 169




Ignore
« Reply #33 on: November 11, 2017, 08:33:17 PM »

nice job, Zack.

What modes and power on 10?  Were you pouncing or calling CQ?  What type of wire?  Any juicy DX?
Logged
RENTON481
Member

Posts: 186




Ignore
« Reply #34 on: November 15, 2017, 03:52:50 PM »

I am a pre-programmed macro on the keyboard of a shy non conversationalist ham.  I like to get pushed regularly during a digital contact.  My biggest pre-typed feature is giving a 59 to every station we are in QSO with even if their signal stinks.  My master is working on automating our functions so that my key wont be pushed anymore.  I am afraid that I will end up in my master's junk box along with all the microphones, and other obsolete technologies in his shack.  As a matter of fact my master is setting up his computer/radio to operate completely automated so he doesn't even have to do anything.  He seems to get off reading the contact log when he returns to the shack running through the scores of other automated stations the computer has contacted.  My master spends all the time that he is not tending the station sitting on the couch in the living room watching reality TV and eating potato chips.

I realise that you are making a statement using sarcasm, but I understand your concern. As a non-ham, I find it curious that so many hams want to let the computer do 90-100% of the work. It sort of takes the human element out of it. It's still technically ham radio, but the ham is really not engaged in the process when they can walk away and the computer does the QSO's.
Logged
W3TTT
Member

Posts: 267




Ignore
« Reply #35 on: November 21, 2017, 11:33:55 AM »

I find it curious that so many hams want to let the computer do 90-100% of the work. It sort of takes the human element out of it. It's still technically ham radio, but the ham is really not engaged in the process when they can walk away and the computer does the QSO's.

Agreed.  Although I can do digital modes, I don't do much digital mode operating.  I have the most fun with my rig and CW Straight Key.  MEMBER SKCC.  But that is just me and 20,000 other members. 
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!