The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Desktop PC alternative for running a weather station...  (Read 4514 times)
K3GM

Ignore
« on: October 04, 2017, 07:15:10 AM »

I've been running a Davis weather station for over 10 years on a couple of different desktop PC's.  As a volunteer station, I upload  my data to a site which ingests it and feeds it to the National Weather Service who uses it to create their surface maps.  My PC runs 24/7, uploading data packets every 5 minutes.

I've been looking at ways of decreasing the power consumption of the host computer. I've been looking at a thin client as a possible alternative.  The software application I use is avaliable in Linux.  I'm led to believe that a thin client does not have any resident software applications.  Is this true?  Are there any other alternatives?  This would be dedicated to the weather station only with nothing else running on it, and it would have to be capable of connecting to the Internet .
AB2RC

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2017, 08:10:25 AM »

If the software is available for Linux have you considered a Raspberry Pi?
K3GM

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2017, 08:20:37 AM »

I'm examining all possibilities, but I haven't worked at all with Raspberry Pi.  One other tjing I need to consider and faiked to memtion is that the application keeps a log which is used for for creating daily records.  So the hardware would have to be able to store the data for retrieval at anytime.
KX4OM

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2017, 11:04:16 AM »