The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Jay's continuing question thread...  (Read 1680 times)
WD0EGC

Ignore
« on: October 06, 2017, 04:41:34 AM »

I'm getting back into ham radio, after 30 years of inactivity.  My ARRL Amateur Radio Handbook was published in 1968, lol.  So, when I come up with a question that I can't readily find an answer for, I'll post them here:

#1.  What makes a power supply a "switching" power supply?  That was a term that didn't exist, back in the day. 

#2.  There are all sorts of newfangled Transceiver-Computer options that didn't exist, back when I was using my Tempo 2020 and HW-8.  Now, there are all sorts of digital modes, Ham Radio Deluxe, FT-8, SDR, controlling a rig remotely, and other terms I'm just beginning to understand.  What I can't figure out, when looking to buy a new or used transceiver....is it compatible with all of these new features? 

Thanks.
KE4OH

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2017, 05:25:02 AM »

Welcome back! I was QRT for 33 years, so I know how it feels...

1. Well, switching power supplies did exist back then, they just weren't called that. Look in your old handbook and you will likely find DC to DC power supply designs that used transistors to provide pulsed DC ("switching") to get current to flow across a transformer. This in turn would jack up the ~12v (or whatever) supply voltage to the B+ needed.  Since then, the state of the art has advanced a bit, but the principles remain the same. Some bright people figured out that by using the same method (pulsing or switching) the supply voltage at a rate much higher than the standard household 60Hz, a very small transformer can be used to handle the same amount of current that would require a monster transformer at 60Hz.

So now we have a relatively cheap and lightweight power supply instead of one with a heavy (expen$ive) iron-core transformer.