The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Correct biasing procedure and replacing MRF429 finals with MRF448 in an TS-950SD  (Read 4362 times)
DC1MC

Ignore
« on: October 15, 2017, 01:42:05 PM »

Dear Elmers, as I about to rebuild the final stage of a Kenwood TS-950SD (not X), I would like your "Sensei" advice about this operation, my background is in Electronics so you can be as technical as possible.
Beside the normal tools (milivoltmeter, power and SWR meter, dummy load 500W) I also have access to a Tek 200MHz - 1Gs/s with 4 channels, unfortunately no signal generator or spectrum analyzer yet (but a Siglent is in the Santa's list Wink.
So the Kenwood Service Manual is as cryptic as it could be, the schematic has on page 203 some DC values and the biasing procedure itself is somehow described in a table at page 162-163 in a way that I don't fully understand.

So to make the questions individually:
- do you have a description of the finals and pre-finals adjustment procedure, from start to end, beginning with the VR positions (probably to the ground, but who knos, as the DC biasing points are not specified, or I can't find them) ?

- is it any idle bias current (class AB) or all the transistors should be fully blocked (pure class B)?

- how could  use the scope to set the best wave form with least distortion, harmonics and so on (even on the expense of efficiency, because my QTH is in a densely populated area in DL and they are merciless with any kind of interference), any hints ?

- I want to replace the soon to be extinct MRF-429 finals with MRF-448, any special things that  need to care for, how much power/reliability/quality of signal is paying a premium for a MP will bring me ?

- If I replace the finals, should the pre-finals 2SC3133 be enough to drive 100W or do I need to replace them as well with something else, if so, with what ?