The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Multi-band Antenna with Counterpoises for City Apartments  (Read 715 times)
KD2BNT

Ignore
« on: November 02, 2017, 09:00:24 AM »

Greetings fellow hammers,

I'm new to the hobby despite being granted a license back in 2012.  I'm back now and just received my general license and I'm studying for the my extra examination.  As I rediscover radio, I've been tinkering with antennas and new ideas.  I would appreciate if anyone could help me with the following:

I'm experimenting with using a multi-band antenna (Comet UHV-6) in a city apartment setting (on the second floor), and my goal is to be to operate my rig on HF bands in addition to VHF/UHF.  The antenna is mounted on a mag-mount attached to a window-mounted air conditioner.

During an initial test run, my base radio didn't show any high SWR (I don't have an antenna analyzer yet) and my VHF/UHF transmissions seemed to be suspect when i used my handheld to test my base transmissions, however, i was able to make a contact successfully without any complaints.  My receiving seems to be excellent VHF and UHF.

As for grounding, I plan to ground my rig to a MFJ-931 (artificial ground) grounded to the building old cast-iron heating system (the type with the large radiators made from a large hunks of irion that release steam), and possibly ground the antenna mount to it too since it's only a few feet away from the window.

I've been reading about using counterpoises in apartment settings to improve SWR and transmission-reception issues, however, they need to be cut to size by using the equation 468/freq/2 in order to match your operating band.

My question is: can you add many counterpoise wires to a multi-band antenna to balance your antenna to work with the different bands the antenna is designed to operate in? 

David Garcia KD2BNT

WB6BYU

Ignore