Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What rigs have been modded for 630M?  (Read 1136 times)
KM1H
Member

Posts: 2458




Ignore
« on: November 04, 2017, 06:31:08 AM »

Im particularly interested in Kenwood TS-940 and 950's.

A friend has an IC 7800 and the manual claims the European version already works there. Details please?

Carl
Logged
AE5X
Member

Posts: 1010




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2017, 07:41:17 AM »

Be aware that modifying a rig by clipping a diode to enable expanded tx capability doesn't do anything to the output filtering in place in the transceiver. As of late 2015, the only commercially manufactured rigs available in the US that do switch to appropriate bandpass filters on 630m are the Flex 6000 series.

Maybe more recent rigs like the IC-7300 or Apache Labs models  do as well...  Huh
Logged

AA2UK
Member

Posts: 289




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2017, 09:24:16 AM »

I know Carl is aware of your concerns. However I have converted an ICOM IC-735 including retuning the filter after the TX mixer in addition to many other mods. Measured power using SA thru high power attenuators is _48dBm on frequency.
Bill AA2UK
Logged
AE5X
Member

Posts: 1010




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2017, 09:38:03 AM »

That's 63 watts if you mean positive 48 dBm. I'm curious what effect your tuning of the filters had on other bands?
Logged

AA2UK
Member

Posts: 289




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2017, 09:55:58 AM »

I'm also running a 5 pole filter on the output of the rig I haven't tried measuring the power on the other bands since the conversion. The rig's for dedicated use on 630 meters only (TX). The power is only 30dBm or 1 watt on 2200 which I have no interest in operating and I can not accurately measure power at 2200. I'll be putting up a short Marconi T this week. I've got a BC-306-A WWII ATU/Variometer. Also an old RCA RF current meter to monitor antenna current.
I'm hoping to source a Hafler 9505 for use on 630. I'll end up having to pick RF off before the PA once I get the Hafler.
Bill, AA2UK
Logged
KM1H
Member

Posts: 2458




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2017, 03:26:34 PM »

All I need is 10-100 mw and can take it from there.  Ive been told by a few that the TS-940/950 family is simple but KW refuses to release the info. Now that the bands are legal they may change their mind.
Logged
AE5X
Member

Posts: 1010




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2017, 04:41:56 AM »

There is a UK-centric YahooGroup dedicated to LF/MF operations. Since 630m and other bands have been available there for years, they might be better able to answer your question.
Logged

KM1H
Member

Posts: 2458




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2017, 08:15:50 AM »

I would expect that to be public knowledge by now
Logged
W6RYO
Member

Posts: 4




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2017, 03:40:12 PM »

I just made the mod on my IC-7300 and it definitely needs a low pass filter. The third harmonic is only down about 10 db. It is registering about 5 watts with an MFJ 970 (probably very inaccurate) into an MFJ 260 B dummy load. The built-in SWR meter reads very high here but I think it is reading wrong. The MFJ meter shows about 1.4 to 1.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!