Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 160 Meter FT8 from HI?  (Read 5019 times)
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« on: November 13, 2017, 10:39:24 AM »

Does anyone operate FT8 (or any digital mode for that matter) from Hawaii on the 160 meter band?
I finally snagged an Hawaiian station on 80 meters for my 5 Band WAS (just 4 more to go, all on 10 meters) but I have never seen an Hawaiian station on 160 meters? I was wondering is it because of the size of land parcels, or it is just because they are way out in the Pacific and not a whole lot of stations to work? or what?   If you operate 160 meters digital I would love to work you. Smiley
Logged
AA2UK
Member

Posts: 752




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2017, 02:21:08 PM »

Look up K9FD, Merv. I know he is active on 160 and 630 meters, does digital modes and LOTW.
Bill, AA2UK
« Last Edit: November 13, 2017, 02:24:46 PM by AA2UK » Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2017, 02:42:12 PM »

Look up K9FD, Merv. I know he is active on 160 and 630 meters, does digital modes and LOTW.
Bill, AA2UK

Thanks Bill.  Email sent to him.. 73
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2017, 03:23:00 PM »

Well, he answered, and no he is not running digital on 160M at this time..  His digital setup is on 600 meters only.  He did give me a couple of others to ask, and emails sent to them... 73  James K0UA... still 160m digitaless in Branson.  Smiley
Logged
AA2UK
Member

Posts: 752




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2017, 03:42:32 PM »

Well, he answered, and no he is not running digital on 160M at this time..  His digital setup is on 600 meters only.  He did give me a couple of others to ask, and emails sent to them... 73  James K0UA... still 160m digitaless in Branson.  Smiley
Do you need to work him via Digital? He's on an old abandoned AM broadcast site, he's gotta have a killer 160 signal?
Bill, AA2UK
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2017, 08:29:08 PM »

Well, he answered, and no he is not running digital on 160M at this time..  His digital setup is on 600 meters only.  He did give me a couple of others to ask, and emails sent to them... 73  James K0UA... still 160m digitaless in Branson.  Smiley
Do you need to work him via Digital? He's on an old abandoned AM broadcast site, he's gotta have a killer 160 signal?
Bill, AA2UK

Since I wanted to finish the 160 digital award.. Yes..

I struck out on the two leads he furnished also.   I bet he would have a great signal.   I just have never seen or printed an Hawaii signal on digital on 160.  Has anyone else?  I am afraid Hawaii is going to be a tough coconut to crack.  Smiley
Logged
KM1H
Member

Posts: 3511




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2017, 03:08:28 PM »

He is a regular on 630M FT8 both reported and doing the reporting as far as the US East Coast.
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2017, 05:27:16 PM »

He is a regular on 630M FT8 both reported and doing the reporting as far as the US East Coast.

I need to give a listen down there some late night.
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2017, 05:11:58 AM »

I managed to snag K9FD last night on JT9 on 160 meters.  We tried FT8, but by then the "mob" had caught on to who he was and where he was, and he worked a couple of guys and left to go back down to 630 meters.  Bill I could not have done it without your pointing me in the right direction.  Those of us with low power and less efficient antennas need all the help we can get!.  So that clears out all of the states on 160.  Just 4 to go on 17 and 4 to go for 10 meters. for 8 band WAS
Logged
AA2UK
Member

Posts: 752




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2017, 08:22:41 AM »

I managed to snag K9FD last night on JT9 on 160 meters.  We tried FT8, but by then the "mob" had caught on to who he was and where he was, and he worked a couple of guys and left to go back down to 630 meters.  Bill I could not have done it without your pointing me in the right direction.  Those of us with low power and less efficient antennas need all the help we can get!.  So that clears out all of the states on 160.  Just 4 to go on 17 and 4 to go for 10 meters. for 8 band WAS
That's great news James. I figured he could run digital modes on 160 if needed. He works  some pretty good stuff on 630 meters. Again I'm glad I could help point you in the right direction after all isn't that what the hobby's all about?
Unrelated this is the 2nd day in a row I worked Larry K0TPP EM48 into FM29 using MSK144 on 222mHz.
73, Bill
AA2UK
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2017, 08:26:08 AM »

I managed to snag K9FD last night on JT9 on 160 meters.  We tried FT8, but by then the "mob" had caught on to who he was and where he was, and he worked a couple of guys and left to go back down to 630 meters.  Bill I could not have done it without your pointing me in the right direction.  Those of us with low power and less efficient antennas need all the help we can get!.  So that clears out all of the states on 160.  Just 4 to go on 17 and 4 to go for 10 meters. for 8 band WAS
That's great news James. I figured he could run digital modes on 160 if needed. He works  some pretty good stuff on 630 meters. Again I'm glad I could help point you in the right direction after all isn't that what the hobby's all about?
Unrelated this is the 2nd day in a row I worked Larry K0TPP EM48 into FM29 using MSK144 on 222mHz.
73, Bill
AA2UK

Yeah Larry is set up pretty good.  His 6 meter antenna is a "killer".  We can work groundwave about any time.  He is around 150 miles away.  I have worked him many times with just 5 watts. All the work is done on his end.  Thanks again..
Logged
KM1H
Member

Posts: 3511




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2017, 05:26:19 PM »

Quote
I managed to snag K9FD last night on JT9 on 160 meters.  We tried FT8, but by then the "mob" had caught on to who he was and where he was, and he worked a couple of guys and left to go back down to 630 meters.

I guess he cant handle pileups even when the computer is doing most of the work.
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 2132




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2017, 05:42:44 PM »

Quote
I managed to snag K9FD last night on JT9 on 160 meters.  We tried FT8, but by then the "mob" had caught on to who he was and where he was, and he worked a couple of guys and left to go back down to 630 meters.

I guess he cant handle pileups even when the computer is doing most of the work.

That was an unkind of thing to say.
Logged
KM1H
Member

Posts: 3511




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2017, 11:38:37 AM »

Quote
That was an unkind of thing to say.

Say what? Cant you handle a simple observation?

Working a new DXCC country on 160 Digital (a separate award) will attract a bigger pileup than on a mostly unpopulated new band and he should have had the courtesy of working the callers or at least explained why he had to go back to 630 so fast.

Carl
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!