Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Transmit and Receive  (Read 1843 times)
114
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« on: September 07, 2003, 10:02:58 AM »

I have a FT-101E and IC-751A. I would like to use 101e for transmit and 751 for receive. Is this possible? and how do i connect. Help would be great.

73s
Logged
K7KBN
Member

Posts: 2838




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2003, 11:07:42 AM »

Separate transmitter and receiver should be no problem at all.  What's your call?
Logged

73
Pat K7KBN
CWO4 USNR Ret.
OBSERVER11
Member

Posts: 657




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2003, 11:43:11 AM »

Yes, it can be done. Who are you? You have found a Amateur Radio site, information is freely exchanged between Amateur Radio (licensed) operators and we are very wary of non-hams seeking information.
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2752


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2003, 03:33:26 PM »

OBSERVER11 writes:

"Yes, it can be done. Who are you? You have found a Amateur Radio site, information is freely exchanged between Amateur Radio (licensed) operators and WE are very wary of non-hams seeking information."

TO OBSERVER11:

It isn't "WE" unless you have a license in your pocket and a Call Sign!  What is yours?Huh

Dennis - KG4RUL
Logged
OBSERVER11
Member

Posts: 657




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2003, 04:01:50 PM »

RUL, it is people like you that I do not use my EXTRA CLASS callsign while online.

RUL if you know so much, answer him yourself or be quiet. TROLL
Logged
N3ZKP
Member

Posts: 2008




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2003, 04:37:07 PM »

KG4RUL:

Don't you just LOVE these guys who run their mouths without being willing to identify themselves? Nice not to have to take responsibility for what they say.

Lon

Logged
KA0MR
Member

Posts: 221




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2003, 06:04:22 PM »

For an Amateur Extra license holder sure seems like a pretty elementary answer you are seeking ??

KAØMR
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9900


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2003, 06:52:43 PM »

To OBSERVER11;

I too would like to know your call sign. Your answers are typically to the point, and accurate, and I'm sure you mean very well. But...

The fact that you use a "handle" rather than a callsign means you have something to hide. Apparently, so do the owners of this site as you have had your logon deleted many times. Please, do us all a favor and let us know who you are.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

W4TYU
Member

Posts: 518




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2003, 06:56:19 PM »

Now that you are done with the words.  Here is a very cheap and effective way to do the job.

Obtain a double pole double throw light switch and use it to change the antenna between the two units..  Of if they are still made, a double pole double throw knife switch will also work.

This was done in the good old days of yore.

Ole man JEAN
Logged
OBSERVER11
Member

Posts: 657




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2003, 07:16:16 PM »

Alan,
I have nothing to hide, there are several user on this site that know who I am, all they had to do was ASK me.

Email me (and you can find my email address if you look at the profile), and if you are someone that I trust, I am happy to tell you my call.

ok?

Logged
W5HTW
Member

Posts: 729


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2003, 08:16:02 PM »

On the subject.  The FT101 has a "RCVR" jack on the back.  It uses the internal relay to switch antennas.  To use a different receiver with the FT101 series, run your receiver coax cable from the receiver to the RCA jack on the back of the FT101.   This switches the antenna.

It does not, though, mute your external receiver, so if you are listening on the same frequency on which you are transmitting, you are going to have problems, unless using headphones at low volume, due to feedback.  

Like some others here I try to avoid assisting CBers who want to put ham gear on the CB band, or get on the "freebands" using ham gear, or worse yet, get on the ham bands without a license.  

On the other hand, there are those who post here and do not use call signs, and I try to give them some leeway.  If, though, I learn it is someone who is not licensed as a ham, and who plans to use the radio illegally, I not only choose not to help, I may choose to hinder.  But I give the benefit of doubt initially.

73
Ed
Logged
114
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2003, 09:46:47 PM »

I want to thank ED. I understand why hams are not wanting to help cb radio operators run ham radios. However being a Ham myself and holding the license I worked so hard to get I have choosen to only use my call sign when operating my radio. Not on the internet. Ed thankyou.
I am also disapointed that only two replys were willing to help and everybody else wanted to question me and badger each other. Thats not what I thought licensed ham operators were all about.
Again I understand and beleive cb ers should stay on cbs. However knowing a few cb operators i have to say that us ham radio operators give them undo grief sometimes. The ones I know are just to poor to buy and operate ham gear and therefore do not need a license and that doesnt make them any lower  in regard to their love of the radio. Atleast the ones I know do not question and badger each other the way I have seen displayed on this forum. Thanks to those that helped and to the other, grow up  and quit thinking you are so much better than every body else.
73s
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2752


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2003, 11:47:43 PM »

My Reply to OBSERVER11's message and his reply:

OBSERVER11 writes:

"Yes, it can be done. Who are you? You have found a Amateur Radio site, information is freely exchanged between Amateur Radio (licensed) operators and WE are very wary of non-hams seeking information."

TO OBSERVER11:

It isn't "WE" unless you have a license in your pocket and a Call Sign! What is yours?Huh

Dennis - KG4RUL  
 
RE: Transmit and Receive  
Reply by OBSERVER11 on September 7, 2003  
Mail this to a friend!  
RUL, it is people like you that I do not use my EXTRA CLASS callsign while online.

RUL if you know so much, answer him yourself or be quiet. TROLL
 
==========

TO OBSERVER11:

YOU criticized 114 because YOU assumed that he was not licensed because he did not post with a call sign.

I responded to you about your lack of a call sign and YOU are not happy about that.

What is YOUR problem?  YOU can dish it out but can't take it?  

OR

Are you the really the "Troll" here???

Dennis - KG4RUL
Someone who bothers to contribute to this site!
Logged
OBSERVER11
Member

Posts: 657




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2003, 01:07:19 AM »

YOU are the troll.

Logged
OBSERVER11
Member

Posts: 657




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2003, 01:21:03 AM »

download the manual, look on page #27, it goes into detail on exactly how to use the 751 with another receiver.
http://www.icomamerica.com/support/manuals/ic-751.pdf


now, please tell me, WHY you want to use a FT101e and the IC751A? The IC751a is a better receiver, the FT101 uses TUBES, both will work on DC, the 751a has WARC bands... the 751a is just a better radio. Why bring that old candle burner into the mix?


(sorry RUL, we called tube rigs CANDLE BURNERS at Yaesu)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!