Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Plasma tv  (Read 496 times)
VE7AL
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« on: February 27, 2009, 06:20:58 AM »

Major interferrence.Is there any correction?
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9880


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 06:30:30 AM »

I have two (Hitachis), and I don't have any RFI from either one.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

WA7NCL
Member

Posts: 625




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 07:54:37 AM »

If its radiated from the display, you are hosed.

You might try some ferrite toroids as a common mode filter on the line cord and on any wires (rf and video) emerging from the box.  If its HF interference, you need maybe 4 or 5 turns thru the toroids.

Theoretically you could cover it with foil and ground it, but it would be kinda hard to see the picture Smiley
Logged
WA3SKN
Member

Posts: 5500




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 07:56:07 AM »

Shielding and filtering.
You will need to determine how the noise is getting into the radio first, though!

-Mike.
Logged
W5WSS
Member

Posts: 1747




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 08:12:31 AM »

KoBg Are you recommending the Hitachis?
Logged
W5WSS
Member

Posts: 1747




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 08:13:27 AM »

Thats K0bg sorry
Logged
KB9CRY
Member

Posts: 4283


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2009, 08:44:50 AM »

Get an LCD TV.
Logged
K5DVW
Member

Posts: 2193




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2009, 09:39:06 AM »

I have a Panasonic plasma... no noise whatsoever on HF. My antenna is 30m from the house tho.
Logged
KA2UUP
Member

Posts: 388




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2009, 10:15:33 AM »

I have a 3-year-old Panasonic 42" plasma TV.  Noisy to the point where I have to turn it off when operating.  Gets into the AM radio in the kitchen, too.  Most of the noise is generated by the white colors.

I have tried all the stuff out there and still no joy!!!!

I would suggest an LCD display.  Much quieter!

Good luck DE Bert @ KA2UUP
Logged
WA1RNE
Member

Posts: 825




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2009, 07:27:58 AM »


 In most cases, the amount of RFI - if any - depends on the actual model, not so much the manufacturer.

 
 A couple years ago, another ham reported intense RFI from his neighbors Pioneer plasma tv from over 1/4 mile. Being a friend of his, the neighbor returned the TV and swapped it for another make - problem completely solved.

 In my experience there have been some exceptions, with Samsung plasma's being the worst offenders for HF RFI. I know of 3 in my neighborhood alone - and one of them belongs to me.

 Don't waste your time and money on no common mode chokes;  the problem is radiation from the screen itself.  


 ...WA1RNE

 
Logged
WA1RNE
Member

Posts: 825




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2009, 07:56:19 AM »


 Sorry for the poor grammar. (coffee was good this morning)

 The post should have read:

 Don't waste your time and money on common mode chokes; the problem is radiation from the screen itself.


 ...WA1RNE
Logged
N5LRZ
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2009, 08:04:14 AM »

A little heads up guys...

Before we all go into screw TV mode, not that I am against saying screw TV. Let us pause to see that this guy is not licensed in the US under the rules and regs of the FCC....

He could have completely different rules and regs that require differet things in his country.

Having stated the above to the original poster....

See YOUR rules and regulations for your country as they relate to amateur radio.
Logged
K7PEH
Member

Posts: 1124




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2009, 08:54:42 AM »

>>>See YOUR rules and regulations for your country as they relate to amateur radio.


I am curious --- how do rules and regulations change the fact that RFI is occurring or not occurring?  Do you mean that if the local rules say that RFI is allowed then it is OK?
Logged
N8TCZ
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2009, 03:38:31 PM »

Not just plasma's.  I had RFI wipe out 2M from about 165.80 to 147.10.  Drove me crazy for a while since that was right on frequencey with the closest repeater.  I knew it wasn't the radio because I got the same RFI on my HT.  Found the problem when I walked into the bedroom and up to my little 17" flatscreen (LCD) TV.  The television was not turned on but it was plugged in.  When I pulled the plug the RFI noise disappeared.  So the TV was emitting RFI in standby mode.  This can apply to any remote controlled device or appliance (DVD, Stero's, tape players, etc).    I also cured the noise on HF when I unplugged the notorious touch lamps.  They gave me a S7 background noise.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!