The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hamvention 2017 Update  (Read 4801 times)
N8AUC

Ignore
« Reply #45 on: Yesterday at 12:48:20 PM »

Well, like JX, I'm an "old school 20WPM Extra" too. Although probably not as "old school" as he is, since he's been licensed longer than I have. I did take my Extra exam at a VE session,

I also took my Extra at a VE session, but it was in 1993. So am I old school or new school?

That depends. What did you do before 1993?

;-)

I was a "No Code Tech" and then became a "Tech Plus" in 1992.   Cool

Not sure. You're kind of in the middle.
But you almost qualify for QCWA, so that's something.

;-)

W9PMZ

Ignore
« Reply #46 on: Today at 02:58:54 AM »

"Ham radio is dying? Not if I have anything to say or do about it!"

hummm...
My wife is friends with the person who organizes "Preperfest" here in Columbus.  She know I am a amateur radio operator and asked me to do an introduction to Amateur Radio and how to obtain a license.
Most of the questions were asked by people who already had cheap VHF/UHF gear who asked, "I scan and scan and scan but I never hear anything, why get a license if there is no one to talk to?"

Carl - W9PMZ
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #47 on: Today at 04:33:39 AM »

Ham radio is dying? Not if I have anything to say or do about it!