Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What was the purpose of the Extra License?  (Read 856 times)
K4EZD

Ignore
« on: July 26, 2014, 07:35:25 AM »

My undergraduate degree was in philosophy and I have no real knowledge or experience with electronics but always enjoyed playing with electronic gadgets.  I passed my Extra on the first try, missing one question but have no idea what most of it meant or of what practical value it is.  I got the Extra for the extra bandwidth on 20 for DX use but don’t really know what those exam questions have to do with my 20 meter operations?  Why do they have the Extra level and what did they think hams with that license could do that Generals can’t?  I also wonder why all Generals don’t take the Extra exam and then gradually the General level would become extinct.  Pleasant, non-sarcastic responses only please.   Wink
N3QE

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2014, 07:54:57 AM »

You know, incentive licensing was very controversial when it was new back in the 60's too :-). Almost any issue of QST would have letters from those infuriated at the incentive proposals, and some of that you can still see today!

Original Extra exam was a 20WPM code test and a theory/rules exam about the subjects of the time... lots of detailed questions about tube amps, pi networks, AM and SSB modulation techniques and adjustments, the different rule sets at the time, some questions about these newfangled transistors.

Just like today, the extra CW segments was where the DX CW was concentrated.

There was also an "Advanced" license between General and Extra, whose main privilege delta over General was more phone bands. For a good while in the 70's and 80's I think Advanceds outnumbered Extras by a lot.