Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Should I become a ham?  (Read 1260 times)
W8FEU-SON

Ignore
« on: October 17, 2003, 12:35:41 AM »

I apologize if this is the wrong forum for this question.  Let Me know and I would move this to the right one.

I think that I might actually be showing symptoms of being bitten by the amateur radio bug decades later.

My dad was W8FEU (SK 1996).  I can remember watching him build and operate his station.  I can remember reading all the neat articles in the Radio Amateur's Handbooks and QST from the 40s and 50s, before I was born.

And yet, I didn't have a burning desire to be a ham.

Way back in 1978 our HS electronics teacher ran a class  on amateur radio and I passed the 5 WPM Novice test.  Unfortunately, the form 610 got lost in the bureaucracy.  What with getting ready for college and all, I dropped the idea.

I graduated with an EE degree (THAT influence from ham radio stuck) and went to work.  I gradually drifted over to the software side and no longer do any hardware design at all at work.  In the 90s, when the No Code Technician came out, I was working very long hours at a dot-com company in California and renting a dinky apartment.

Now that I have settled down a bit with an actual house with a yard and finally have some spare $$$, I am finding that maybe I want to do this.  Then again, maybe it's just a whimsy and I'll have forgotten about it in a couple months.

I passed the code before (102 letters straight) and I'm sure if I brushed up I could do it again.  I've looked at the General question pool and could probably do well there once I learn the various band assigments and study antennas a little.

But do I want to?

What would y'all recommend to help get the information to make a decision?

Since the license is cheap, I could perhaps just pick up a ticket even if I never get on the air.