Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ham vs Marine  (Read 1458 times)
WCCVB

Ignore
« on: November 25, 2003, 08:29:35 PM »

I'm currently studying and waiting for the next VE session in our area to take my Technician test and if I can master the code I will take the element 1 test also. Hopefully, I can also pass the General later in the spring. In studying the spectrum for my Tech test I ran across the portions of the spectrum alotted for marine use. I found it very curious that marine ssb transceivers can be legally modified (or maybe they do it without modification) to operate on amateur frequencies, if the operator has the proper amateur license, but it is illegal for an amateur to modify his ham transceiver to operate on the marine frequencies. Is there a reason that the marine frequencies are off limits to amateurs while the ham frequencies are available to marine operators assuming the operator is licensed for those bands ?

I know of people with ham transceivers on their boats that are using them for marine purposes (HF nets etc. NOT on marine bands). Is there some sort of marine magic wand that needs to be waved over the transceiver at the factory before they can be made to access the marine bands or is there an FCC blessing bestowed on the tranceiver before the rig is legal to use on the wet frequencies ?

Just Curious...
N3ZKP

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2003, 08:44:34 PM »

<< but it is illegal for an amateur to modify his ham transceiver to operate on the marine frequencies. >>

No. Marine radios must be type-accepted by the FCC for use on those frequencies.

<<Is there a reason that the marine frequencies are off limits to amateurs while the ham frequencies are available to marine operators assuming the operator is licensed for those bands ? >>