Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Off frequency RF  (Read 1496 times)
K7MDO

Ignore
« on: June 19, 2007, 08:12:27 AM »

I have been using a new to me but used IC-718 now for about 6 months and only last night did I notice something about the radio that makes me think there has been a modification to it that could be a bad idea.

I often use WWV to get GMT for my logs right after a QSO and since 10 mHz is the one that always works I go there. Out of habit, I happened to press the "tune" button on the set to bring the AH-4 and long wire into best match at that frequency. What suprised me is that the "tune" function worked, it should not have as it transmits RF when tuning.

That started a hunt for other anomolies and they are apparent though confusing. When reading the manual, there should be a warning beep at each band edge. There seems to only be a beep at the top edge, not the bottom edge.

Any ideas?
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2007, 08:21:19 AM »

Most of the newer radios can be modified to provide transmit outside of the ham bands.
K7MDO

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2007, 08:29:38 AM »

I have learned that a modification is possible but in reading about it, it would seem that it would allow the set to transmit anywhere in the 1-30 mHz area... mine definitely does not though I have not mapped the entire spectrum, I have tried a couple of places and been unable to transmit out of band....

KE3WD

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2007, 10:10:08 AM »

If you are the sole owner of the rig from new, try a full reset first.