Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Lack of etiquette  (Read 518 times)
KC2RVD

Ignore
« on: September 06, 2007, 05:03:37 AM »

I have been a Ham operator Since June, and in that short time I have noticed an increase in the lack of "etiquette" on the 2-meter band in my area.  I am hearing increased numbers of people using the designated repeater areas for simplex operation.  I know I am new and do not claim to know everything there is about operating practices, but to me this is a pretty simple concept.  There are plenty of areas to talk simplex, and it only takes a quick turn of the dial to move to a frequency designated for simplex.

Additionally as a new General I have begun using HF.  All I can say is that I have heard similar stuff there.  Unidentified stations interfering with Nets, and other QSOs, People tuning up right on or too close to other operators.  I realize that this will happen occasionally because I propagation conditions, and some people cannot hear certain stations, but what ever happened to "Is this frequency in use this is ...."

Also I was calling CQ last night, and a station called back with out giving there call sign... He kept asking for mine with out identifying , then he faded into the noise.  Isn't the proper procedure to give your call sign when calling other stations.  Granted This has only happened ounce and I am sure it will happen again, but  I always though operating procedures were one of the first things to learn when starting out.  I listened to a lot of QSOs, and read about standard operating procedures before making my first transmissions on both VHF and HF.

N3OX

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 06:50:53 AM »

"I always though operating procedures were one of the first things to learn when starting out"