Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: QRZ FORUM  (Read 1450 times)
W6GQ
Member

Posts: 10


WWW

Ignore
« on: June 01, 2008, 03:56:18 PM »

I cannot get on QRZ, is anyone else having problems?
Logged
VE7DCW
Member

Posts: 26




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2008, 04:42:34 PM »

Looks like it could be a site server problem ...it won't connect for me either.The proverbial technical difficulty..
Logged
W8NSI
Member

Posts: 23


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2008, 05:31:18 PM »

Same here... I get an IMMEDIATE "Unable to connect" message.

I tried to ping www.qrz.com and after several attempts the ping utility came back with a "cannot find the host" message. Looks like their server is completely off line.

Maybe the server is down for maintenance or possibly someone is doing a denial of service attack. The result would be the same out here.

I am using www.hamcall.net for call sign lookups right now. Works great!

As for the ZED forums, we have these here and the ones and the Island of Misfit Hams. We could always start a new one on some server, "Hams Lost and Wandering in Search of a Zed Replacement".  heh heh heh

Or we can all meet on echolink.

73 de w8nsi jim
Logged

73 de w8nsi/nnn0uzw jim
KB9RQZ
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2008, 08:09:34 PM »

qrz back up power failure blamed
Logged
KU7PDX
Member

Posts: 58


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2008, 08:51:48 PM »

They probably have hosting through a reseller of services through "ThePlanet".

ThePlanet had a fire and explosion in an area that provides power to their datacenter and it's expected to last probably at least 24 hours (officially no ETA).

http://rss.slashdot.org/~r/Slashdot/slashdot/~3/302479386/article.pl
Logged

73,
Chris - KU7PDX
KE5UVL
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2008, 12:57:29 AM »

I've done some tests.

Their name server for the domain is down. Both of them.

If DNS doesn't work, you need to know the IP to get to the site.
Logged
W8NSI
Member

Posts: 23


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2008, 08:44:18 AM »

"whois" for qrz.com shows an IP 199.245.125.13 and it does not respond to http://199.245.125.13 or any variations.

The name registrar is DOTSTER and the name servers are:

ns.qrz.com and ns1.qrz.com

Looks like the eggs got smashed along with the basket.

QRZ.com was online very briefly this morning.

73 de w8nsi jim

note: I use "http://whois.domaintools.com/"  for all my whois lookups.
Logged

73 de w8nsi/nnn0uzw jim
N5NA
Member

Posts: 217




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2008, 08:44:57 AM »

QRZ was back up last night and had posted they were having power problems at the data center.  I am unable to access them this morning.

I don't believe the fire in The Planet data center in Houston is the problem.  QRZ's server is in Phoenix.
Logged
KB3PXR
Member

Posts: 13


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2008, 11:43:20 AM »

I've been keeping an eye on the planet situation thinking that maybe QRZ is hosted there and quite frankly information technology is my thing. Now that I hear that a second data center went down due to power problems, I'm now quite concerned. A power failure at a data center is INEXCUSABLE!! I'll cut The Planet some slack because the fire department made them shut down, but not much as they should have coordinated with the fire department beforehand so that they would not have to shut down power in such a scenario as the power systems are not interconnected at that point.
Logged
N5NA
Member

Posts: 217




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2008, 02:00:24 PM »

Interestingly, whois.domaintools.com has a text screen shot from last night.

"QRZ Technical Problems - Power Failure

by AA7BQ     2008-06-01 19:03:03
The incoming power to the QRZ servers has been intermittent this afternoon. Please excuse any inconveniences. We're on-site at the data center working with the facilities crew at this time. Thank"

Logged
KE5UVL
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2008, 02:21:33 PM »

Turns out the problem with QRZ was cooling.

The owner of QRZ colocates equipment in a cabinet. The datacenter took an air conditioner down for maintenance and the ambient temp went to 95+.

This resulted in a breaker popping over and over in the cabinet and he had to keep driving up to reset it.

The datacenter staff just put fans around the cabinet to try and help.

Sounds pathetic though. That is why datacenter good operating practice is to have N+1 redundancy. So if 1 goes down, you still have operating ability

However, cheap colocation facilities are a dime a dozen these days.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!