Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 18 Wheels and an HF rig.....  (Read 1210 times)
N4DFP

Ignore
« on: October 04, 2000, 10:25:49 PM »

Ok, I am curious, how many of you guys are drivers and operate HF from your truck? I am a driver (doing local haul) and in anticipation of my upgrade (hopefully this Saturday) I have installed a Swan 100MX in my tractor with a HamStick for 40m mounted on the grab bar on the passengers side fairing of my Freightliner cab over. I love the rig. It is a dream to operate .... simple, no annoying extra buttons to get in the way and take your eyes off the road; in short, I love the rig. And no, I haven't made any unauthorized contacts. However I feel I am missing the boat on my antenna end. Money IS an object, so a screwdriver is out at this particular time, but I don't want to nickel and dime myself to death with a dozen HamSticks and THEN invest in a screwdriver. Is a screwdriver even the best option? Where is the best best place to mount an antenna, and how? Come on drivers, help me out. For you non-drivers, working with a cab over is sort of like working with a van, but it is much bigger.
AF4AR

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2000, 03:02:31 AM »

I drive for a Local Bakery. Do yourself a favor and buy a Screwdriver Antenna from "NU4W".
David Frasier builds these antennas in Paducah Kentucky and its the best Antenna I"ve ever had. I"ve run Hustlers, Hamsticks, & even other Screwdriver Antennas but, his is the best. I run a Yaesu Ft-100 for my Primary radio but, also own a Icom-706 and have had good luck with it.
I have pictures of mine on my Homepage and a link to "Nu4W" Homepage should you want further info on his antenna. I paid $220 for mine complete.
Heres my homepage-http://home.att.net/~af4ar
Click on Hamradio and you"ll find the info you need as well as other interesting things.
73 Mike/Af4ar
AC5WA

Ignore