Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Equipment Question  (Read 570 times)
KD9TFX

Ignore
« on: September 26, 2001, 01:09:56 PM »

Hello, I am new to the world of HAM. I have a question about different mobile radios.  Does such a radio exsist:  I would like to have access to all Technician bands as well as the CB band too.  One other concer, about how much would such a radio cost?  Thanks!
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2001, 02:36:32 PM »

Nope, doesn't exist.

"All the Technician bands," even without the CB adder, doesn't exist, either -- mostly because "all the Technician bands" include 902 MHz, 1.2 GHz, 2.3 GHz, 5.6 GHz, 10.1 GHz, and higher, and higher, and higher...there's nothing made to cover all those microwave bands!

Also, amateur (ham) rigs don't cover CB for many valid reasons.  CB equipment must be type accepted for that service; ham equipment needn't be.  CB equipment has severe restrictions on what it can, and cannot do, by law.  Ham equipment hasn't such restrictions, except one restriction regarding commercially-manufactured amplifiers capable of operating between 25 and 50 MHz, or some such nonsense.  (Homebrew equipment, including amplifiers, can be built for any amateur band and used by any properly licensed amateur.  However, homebrew equipment is specifically not allowed for use in the CB band.)

You need a separate CB rig!  Sorry...

73 de Steve WB2WIK/6
INITZERO

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2001, 04:05:07 PM »

> Does such a radio exsist: I would like to have access to all Technician bands as well as
> the CB band too. One other concer, about how much would such a radio cost?

I'm going to tick off a lot of hams by actually answering your question. I have too
little space in my car as it is and appreciate not having to have a separate CB,
company radio and FRS in the car in addition to a 2/440 rig.