Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 20 meter RFI shutting off my Icom 706mkiig  (Read 1889 times)
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:15 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:16 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:17 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:19 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:21 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:23 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:24 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:26 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #23 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:28 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #24 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:29 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #25 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:31 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #26 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:32 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

K0BG
Member

Posts: 9867


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #27 on: May 04, 2002, 05:42:34 PM »

Mark is correct. The ones sold by Radio Shack, and some secondary outlets are for use on computer cords. These just don't work! You can also purchase them directly from Amidon, and they do have a web site. Make sure the rig itself is well grounded too. A friend of mine had his laying in the glovebox and had the same problem until he mounted the rig correctly.

Alan, KØBG
Logged

N6VQQ
Member

Posts: 38




Ignore
« Reply #28 on: May 04, 2002, 10:57:00 PM »

Thanks, I guess Mark is correct!
Logged
WA2MKY
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #29 on: May 07, 2002, 01:20:40 PM »

I had the same problem. Connecting a short braided strap from the ground screw on the radio to the car body metal cured the problem. No ferrite cores were necessary. In my situation, the RF deck is under the drivers seat and the strap goes to a seat mounting screw.

Is anyone having any problems with intermittent output power on any bands?
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!