Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-100D DC Power connector  (Read 1412 times)
AE6NG
Member

Posts: 23




Ignore
« on: January 13, 2006, 12:01:23 PM »

Hi,

Does anyone know what type of DC Power connector for Yaesu FT-100D? And where can I get one?

I am trying to mount the rig on my car, and don't want to use the original DC power cable, so I can move the rig easily between home or mobile use.

Thanks!

Johanes
AE6NG
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9885


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2006, 12:43:40 PM »

You're going to find it is cheaper to buy the cable all in one.

The reason is, you have to buy wire, fuse holders, and the plug. I'm sure Yaesu isn't much different than Icom; the parts to duplicate the factory cable is nearly twice the cable's cost.

That said, I build my own, but when I ordered a new plug for my 7000 Icom wanted $12.50 plus shipping, and they didn't have one! I ended up modifying the original as I couldn't even find a replacement cable. So much for buying a new-on-the-market radio.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

KC8AXJ
Member

Posts: 303




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2006, 12:45:59 PM »

here ya go:
http://www.gigaparts.com/parts/profile.php?sku=ZCB22001

73
Steve
Logged
KC8AXJ
Member

Posts: 303




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2006, 12:49:54 PM »

OOOPS ! I posted the wrong hyperlink.

This is what I ment, that is if you feel you want to make one up.

http://www.powerwerx.com/category.asp?CtgID=1003
Logged
AE6NG
Member

Posts: 23




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2006, 05:55:24 PM »

Steve and Alan,

Thanks for the fast response! I know I can depend on this forum! I will checkout the website. Thanks a lot!

Johanes
AE6NG
Logged
KA9ARM
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2006, 11:08:11 PM »

If you want to roll your own, try:

http://www.powerwerx.com/

Look under OEM connectors. You should always have fuses in both sides of the DC line as close to the source as possible.

Andy KA9ARM
Logged
WB9QVR
Member

Posts: 28




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2006, 04:42:35 PM »

Johanes, you can also order either the connector or the complete cable assembly from:

http://www.pl-259.com/page4.html
Logged
WB6BYU
Member

Posts: 13477




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2006, 01:53:15 PM »

On all my rigs I cut off the power cable about a foot or
two from the back of the rig and install Anderson PowerPole
connectors on both sides of the cut.  That way I only
need one connector to fit each radio, and all of
my radios and power supplies are interchangable (because
all have PowerPoles.)

Besides, when switching rigs it is much easier to mate
a 2-pin connector on the end of a wire than to try to
reach behind the rig to plug in the multi-pin connector.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!