Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Powerpoles  (Read 604 times)
JS6343
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« on: March 16, 2007, 04:30:09 PM »

Any suggestions on the best way to connect 8 awg cable to an FT8800?  I was considering using powerpoles, but saw that the connectors for 8awg and 10awg are sized differently.  

I'd like something a little better than solder and shrink wrap.

KC9KKZ
Logged
N3OX
Member

Posts: 8847


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2007, 06:47:58 PM »

Do you have an exceptionally long run of cable?  It would take a 45 foot run of 8 AWG power wiring to give you half a volt drop with the FT-8800's 8.5A draw.

I'd just go with #10 and save the #8 for a bigger project.

If you do really need the 8 AWG wire, you could get an 8 AWG butt splice and crimp #10 in one side and #8 in the other and heat shrink it with adhesive heat shrink.  That'd be a pretty nice joint.

Dan
Logged

73,
Dan
http://www.n3ox.net

Monkey/silicon cyborg, beeping at rocks since 1995.
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9883


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2007, 07:20:25 PM »

I agree with Dan.

If you want the whole story, go to my web site and look under wiring.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

JS6343
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2007, 05:44:49 AM »

The 8awg is already run.  I put it in in case I want to expand in the future with HF, amp, power converter, etc.  Who knows.

Logged
JS6343
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2007, 05:47:31 AM »

Thanks for the advice.  I guess I will go with the permanence of a butt splice.

KC9KKZ
Logged
N3OX
Member

Posts: 8847


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2007, 08:56:34 AM »

"The 8awg is already run. I put it in in case I want to expand in the future with HF, amp, power converter, etc. Who knows. "

That's a good reason to use it ;-)

"Thanks for the advice. I guess I will go with the permanence of a butt splice. "

In this particular case you might think about getting a nice terminal block to go on the firewall or something... I don't know how more experienced mobile installers would feel about this, but it seems like you could run your 8AWG to a common point where you could split it out to a couple radios with 10AWG for the 2m rig.

Dan
Logged

73,
Dan
http://www.n3ox.net

Monkey/silicon cyborg, beeping at rocks since 1995.
JS6343
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2007, 02:51:34 PM »

I had that thought also.  But just not sure what kind of block would accept 8awg, 10awg, etc.

Hopelessly new....

KC9KKZ
Logged
KE4DRN
Member

Posts: 3734




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2007, 08:21:57 PM »

hi,

you can use split bolt copper connectors,
like the one in this link.

http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/14-46-split-bolt-connectors.aspx

since you are using a case, easy to assemble.

73 james
Logged
KB1OCC
Member

Posts: 172




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2007, 10:22:11 AM »

I think I've seen such distribution blocks in stereo supply catalogs.  You might want to try Crutchfield's web site for this item.
Logged
KE4DRN
Member

Posts: 3734




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2007, 02:58:28 PM »

hi,

the split bolt connectors are in the
electrical dept at home depot, lowes and menards.

73 james
Logged
N3QD
Member

Posts: 26




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2007, 07:29:59 PM »

You can also try your local car stereo shop, or an on-line store like this one:
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductList.aspx?CategoryID=31

73 & Good Luck,
Mike (N3QD)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!