The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can RF erase CF cards?  (Read 787 times)
KQ6UP

Ignore
« on: May 20, 2007, 10:51:41 AM »

I am a professional photographer.  Yesterday I had a photo shoot where I had all of my CF cards with me (5 in all) in my camera bag.  When I took out my camera and turned it on I realized that I had photos from a previous shoot in the camera.  I removed this stick and replaced it with one from my CF wallet.  Strangely, the camera said no file system found for this new other chip (I had been hamming it up the whole way to the photo shoot HF 100 watts, VHF 50 watts, UHF 35 watts.  The camera bag was about 2 to 3 feet from the HF and the VHF/UHF antennas the whole time).  This chip was just recently formatted, so it should of had a file system.  I then formated the stick, and shot my scheduled shoot.  When I got home, the only images I found were the shots that were on the chip in the camera.  The other images from the previous shoots were gone.  I tried image rescue software, but the 2 newer high speeds card were blank even to the recovery software (I have never seen this before).  Usually, one can recover all of the old files even after they have been erased.  I have always been able to recover about 1G worth of files from any card I have recovered.

Has anyone had any experience like this?  Anybody have a clue to what happened?

Chris KQ6UP

AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2007, 07:03:26 PM »