Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Recommendation for 'all-band' mobile transceiver?  (Read 1394 times)
KD0EIL

Ignore
« on: June 24, 2008, 01:07:07 AM »

Having obtained my general class license, I've been seriously looking at an HF radio and I have to say I'm rather lost.  I'm a beginner HAM and I'm concerned I'll buy something and then regret it (at least to the extent that I could have bought something with many more features for just a bit more $$).

I initially planned on using a Yaesu FT-8900 as I liked several of its key features, specifically (1) cross band repeat - I plan to add a hand-held in the next month or so and would like the extra boost when operating outside the truck; (2)the ability to listen to one frequency while scanning another band; (3) the ability to receive so many commercial and public service frequencies rather adding a dedicated scanner.

However, after getting my General Class License, I've been looking at the Yaesu FT-857 and FT-897 radios.  After a lot of reading on eham.net I've also been looking at the Icom IC-7000 but it sounds like the IC-7200 could be approved and available any day now (or so the story goes for the past year +).  Likewise, it seems the Yaesu models are due for an update.

Basically, it seems foolish not to buy something with the widest possible band coverage that my license allows - and that means the all-band radios, which will satisfy the scanner-like ability to monitor commercial and public service bands, but it appears I will lose cross-band repeat and dual receive in order to gain the full HF spectrum.

So, any recommendations other than what I am already considering?  And what's the vote between these?