Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Location High mountains or near ocean  (Read 503 times)
TI2TL

Ignore
« on: December 22, 2008, 08:46:58 PM »

I am new to mobile operation but I would like to know just one thing:

would you consider a better location for DX contacts a high mountain (over 7000-8000feet) or on the sand at 10 meters from the ocean? Regardless of the antenna and radio equipment.

WW5AA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2008, 06:19:48 AM »

Salt water is overrated as to ground quality. Usually a small island will show some advantage and then only because of lack of clutter for low angle. If the mountain top is clear of obstructions that is what I would go for. I have worked HF mobile from the beach in California and nearby mountain tops, all within 30 min. Have fun!

73 de Lindy
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2008, 06:52:36 AM »

Lindy is correct. You often see references about how good of DX is possible from near shore line locations. But as Lindy alludes to, it is because of the unobstructed view, more than it is an increase in ground conductivity.

Probably the most important factors with respect to working DX from a mobile are these: Maximize your antenna system; minimize your ambient noise level (ignition RFI, etc.); and the biggest one of all, diligence!!

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com

WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2008, 12:12:04 PM »

The beachfront, if it were a very "flat" location with no mountains nearby at all, would be my choice.  However if it's a beach that has mountains rising nearby, that can be terrible as it's almost impossible to work "over" nearby mountains.