Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Icom IC-208 & D-STAR ???  (Read 2775 times)
DD4DJ
Member

Posts: 3




Ignore
« on: March 11, 2009, 01:46:32 PM »

Hi,

does anybody know, whether it's possible to make the IC-208 D-Star - ready? It seems that this mobile is exactly the same as the ID-800 which is expandable for D-Star with an optional unit (UT-???).

Christoph
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9886


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 02:36:46 PM »

No.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

DD4DJ
Member

Posts: 3




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2009, 04:05:51 PM »

It seems that you are familiar with this radio(s), can you shortly explain, what the problem is? It would be interesting!

Thanks
Christoph
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2750


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2009, 05:45:35 PM »

The IC-208 has no place to plug in the D-STAR module.  A radio has to be designed from the get-go for this.
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9886


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2009, 06:04:01 PM »

Chris, the manual lists all of the options available for the radio, and D-Star isn't one of them.

I can't speak for your neck of the woods, but on this side of the pond, D-Star repeaters are few and far between except in some of the major cities. Even then, they're scarce. Hopefully, that will change in the next couple of years. What will really spur things on, is to have Icom just include the option in their D-Star-ready transceivers. In the mean time, I wouldn't sweat about not having it.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

DD4DJ
Member

Posts: 3




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2009, 07:14:11 AM »

I know for sure that there's no chance to simply put an UT-??? unit in and everything is fine! But I was wondering whether the missing plug for the installation of the UT-unit is the ONLY thing that's different from the ID800.

It should not be the biggest problem (for me: yes, but for experienced hams: no) to make a selfmade connection between the board on the radio and the unit.

But when the boards in both radios are totally different, then it would be a much bigger problem.
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2750


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2009, 10:44:39 AM »

To reiterate, this is NOT possible.
Logged
W9HQE
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2014, 03:34:19 PM »

A guy I know has a 208h with dstar how is that possible if what you say is true?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!