Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FRS mod'd mobile?  (Read 1603 times)
BPEVANS

Ignore
« on: February 27, 2001, 09:25:24 AM »

Hi,

I'm new to all this and haven't yet got a license or radio but would like to get an idea of what costs and work are involved in what I'd like to do.

I want to mount a 2m radio in my suv & one in my buddys vehicle for our offroading/road trips.  We are looking for something sized & mounted like a small CB radio and not too expensive (hoping in the sub $300 range).  We are looking into ham/hf/2m (whats the difference?)  because we have read that they can be modified to work on FRS frequencies.  Since we already have & use an arsenal of FRS handhelds this would be really helpful to us for vehicle to person communication.  This is feasable right?

What does a license cost & take to obtain for a radio in this class?  How much should I expect to invest in a radio that can be modified?  Will an experienced club member be likely to help me modify a radio or will I be pointed to a internet how-to?  If a how-to, how difficult is it? How far could I expect mobile to mobile communication to be? Right now we get 1 mile or less with our FRS handhelds.

Thanks for any info,
Barry
K3UOD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2001, 02:59:07 PM »

Modifying any kind of radio to work on FRS is illegal.  Don't do it.