Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: High School Club Logistics  (Read 1047 times)
CLEBOT

Ignore
« on: October 28, 2007, 07:44:11 PM »

Good evening,

I am a high school science teacher in Conroe, TX.
I am working on getting a club set up at the school, but keep running into the same obstacle...what antenna to use, where to mount it, and how do I get the feedline to it?

I have an HF rig, and 3 VHF/UHF rigs that have been donated, as well as the respective antennas.

Before I go to the administration to pitch my idea, I need to have a plan on how I am going to do it.

I am planning on using my classroom, because I can keep an eye on the equipment, and know that it is secure.  The question is how do I get the cable out of my room (on the first floor) to the roof (two floors above me).  Once I get the cable up there, what kind of antenna would you recommend?  A verticle (small space requirement, good for DX, needs to be guyed) or a simple dipole (but needs supports).

The VHF/UHF antennas should be easy to mount (Ringo Rangers), but the question still remains...how do I get the feedline  from the radio to the antenna, with the least cosmetic disruption to the building?

Thanks for listening!!!  Hope to work you soon from Conroe High School!

Gerrit
KE5HVM
K7UNZ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2007, 04:30:39 PM »

Can't really tell you what to put on the roof without knowing what's up there, size, configuration, etc...but that's actually the easy part.

But the coax run should just be a simple drop down the side of the building, and through the exterior wall to your room.  A few insulated cable staples along the way.

I'd suggest you talk with the folks in your district's facilities maintenance office.

Might not hurt to mention the potential as an emergency communications facility....

73, Jim/k7unz
W3LK

Ignore