Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Receiver: TS 140 vs 430  (Read 1283 times)
W9YE

Ignore
« on: September 02, 2003, 12:08:26 PM »

I have a like new TS 140 that I use as a second rig at the lake cabin and as a back-up at home.  I also have the matching AT 250, PS 50 and SP 430.  I have been frustrated at the lack of QRM fighting options on the receiver (RIT is about it) and the high noise floor on this radio and am wondering how much better the receiver is on the TS 430.  I would like to be able to use the above accesories if possible on a radio with a better front end in the receiver.  Is it worth looking for a good 430?  Does anyone have one with box, manual, FM board, etc?  Thanks for any help

Gavin Roberts W9EYE
N3ZKP

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2003, 10:04:51 AM »

I have no experience with the 140, but I have a 430 as the backup to my TS-570S(G).

Considering the age of the 430, I doubt that the receiver is going to be much of an improvement over the 140. Other than RIT and an IF shift control there os no "QRM fighting" capabilities in the 430.

You would be much better off buying a newer radio with improved receiver performance. I would suggest looking for a used 570(G) or 570S(G), if you are interested in 6m. Both have an internal tuner roughly equivalent to the AT-250. You can use your existing speaker and power supply with it.

Hope this helps,

Lon
N8UZE

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2003, 05:00:55 PM »

You could get the narrow SSB and CW filters for it.  I believe these are still available.  You probably have a stock base radio with no filters.

I have the older TS-130SE and the first thing that I did when I got it was to add the filters.  It made a tremendous difference in fighting QRM.
K7VO

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2003, 12:52:38 PM »