Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie trying to figure out what to buy. Spec rea  (Read 1439 times)
AB1DZ

Ignore
« on: August 24, 2004, 11:21:54 PM »

Greetings!!

I am a newbie shopping for my first transceiver.  I am looking at the Kenwood TS-480SAT and the Yaesu FT-857D.  They both are HF.

Someone told me Kenwood has a better receiver.  How can I figure that out by reading the spec?  How much better is it.

Thanks,

Roland
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2004, 11:49:17 AM »

You can't figure it out by reading the specifications, at all.  "Better," when it comes to HF receivers (or nowadays, even most VHF receivers) has nothing to do with sensitivity, it has to do with performance when an antenna is connected to the receiver, which is something that a million dollars' worth of laboratory test equipment still doesn't simulate very well.

Of those two rigs, I don't know which is "better" under real-world conditions, but I'd bet that each is probably better in some way or another, depending upon existence of close-by strong signals, band used, local noise factors and other variables.  To compare two receivers, the only way I've ever found that works is to have them side by side on a bench with an antenna switch so I can switch rapidly between the two (like, in less than a second) and actually listen for differences under various conditions.  

And even then, this evaluation can take days or weeks, not minutes or hours, because some differences don't demonstrate themselves right away.

I don't like the little Yaesu's tiny frequency display.  That has nothing to do with performance, but it is ergonomics, and if I can't read the display I'm not going to like the rig very much.