Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Icom 746PRO or Kenwood TS-570S (G)  (Read 685 times)
KC2MWJ

Ignore
« on: September 19, 2004, 01:18:15 PM »

I am ready to purchase a new HF+6 mtr rig, and have narrowed it down to these 2 choices. Price is about the same, considering the 746 comes with a promotional power supply. I'd have to buy one for the TS-570. I'm looking for a decent transceiver with 6 mtrs and tuner included. Will be using it for both SSB and CW, with possible digital modes in the future. Large easy to read display and less menus are better for me. I currently have a Kenwood TS-520SE, so either of these will be a step-up for me. After reading all the reviews of both, it's still a tough decision.
Thanks,
Tony
N3ZKP

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2004, 02:31:31 PM »

Tony:

I have no experience with the 746, but I have had a 570(S)G for almost four years and have no complaints. I think it is the best value for the money in an HF/6 rig.

The menu system is mostly set and forget and there are two menus available so you can set things up separately for SSB and CW and switch between the two with one button push (or set up for SSB/CS and digital) although I use mine for both SSB and digital with the same menu settings.

Of course, the 570 has Kenwood's outstanding audio and both the TX and RX audio is adjustable.

When my club was looking to equip a multi radio shack, we bought four of the 570s and haven't regretted it a bit.

Hope this helps,

Lon
KC2MWJ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2004, 08:04:19 AM »

Lon,
I thought I'd get a few more replys, but your's was it. I just picked up a TS-570SG this morning. I also have a TS-520SE which was my main rig until now. I'll keep it as a spare. Thanks for the reply.
Tony KC2MWJ
N3ZKP

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2004, 12:53:06 PM »

I though you'd get more, too.