Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Choosing between the FT-840 and the IC-718  (Read 847 times)
W5GFQ

Ignore
« on: March 16, 2005, 11:25:13 AM »

I've read the reviews and a lot of you like these transceivers.  I'd appreciate hearing a few more opinions on the Icom IC-718 vs the Yaesu FT-840.

Thanks!

Sam
W5GFQ
WA9FZB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 02:07:39 PM »

I can't compare the two, as I only own the FT-840.  I chose the 840 because I didn't want a menu-driven radio.  I've been hamming for over 40 years and wanted a new rig that would be quick to get from the carton onto the air.  I may have given up some bells or whistles, but I sure can't think of which they may be.  I find the 840 to be well constructed, simple to use and just a lot of fun for the cost and the space it requires.  Seemed to me that it would be a more graceful transition into the 21st century for me, from my analog separate xmtr and rcvr to a (relatively) modern digital xcvr.

I'll wait and let some of the experts compare the technical merits of the two, but suffice it to say that I'm fully satisfied with the performance of this little rig.  I've used it mostly on CW (with the 500 Hz filter), and a little bit of SSB contest work.  The fun is back!  I don't think you'd go wrong with the 840.

Of course, that's just my opinion. . .

73 es good luck!
Steve  WA9FZB
VE3IOS

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2005, 07:38:00 AM »