Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Icon 706 MKIIG or Yaesu FT-857D/FT897D  (Read 6808 times)
KD6BOH

Ignore
« on: September 21, 2005, 01:17:44 PM »

I've been away from HAM Radio for almost 10 years and have only recently gotten the time and some resources available to devote to the hobby. I am a codeless Tech but plan on upgrading my Licence to General and possibly even Expert (free time permitting) with in the next 6/8 months.

I am litterally starting from scratch and would like some advice on what to get to build a decent setup. I want to be able to do moble operations to participate in field day and possibly help out with emergencies. I am also on Active duty with the Air Force and am looking into maybe adding MARS after I pass my General tests. For this reason I am also trying to limit the space impact of my setup becasue of PCS-ing and appartment dwelling.

I have looked at rigs listed in the subject and all three seem to fit the bill for a decent all-in-one station that will give me the most flexibility. My Question is which one would be better. I am on a buget and would prefer to purchase new if possible.  Besides price what are the real differences between the Yaesu FT 897D and the Icon 706 MKIIG? The FT 857D looks like a smaller version of the FT 897D with out battery/power supply storage in the case. Is this assumtion correct or are there other differences that I am not seeing?

Thanks in advance
Jason KD6BOH  
K7VO

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2005, 03:17:18 PM »

You are correct that the FT-857D is a scaled back, smaller FT-897D.  They do share a lot of circuitry in common.  The FT-897D does offer the TCXO standard while it's an option on the FT-857D and this may be an issue for you if you plan on doing digital work.  In addition to the battery issue the FT-897D supports an attachable autotuner by either Yaesu or LDG.