Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Antenna decisions  (Read 1091 times)
KC5HMC

Ignore
« on: July 13, 2006, 07:40:06 PM »

Hey all, I am building a station and am liminted on what I am able to use for an antenna. So far I have a Yaesu FT-857 and a FC-40. The building where this will be going is an all metal flat roof building that is 144' long by 54'. The problem is that the antenna needs to be as stealth as possible, so here a few questions.
1) Can I extend several wires from the FC-40 ( like half of a fan dipole ) so that it will tune 160 through 6 meters?

2) What would happen (radiation pattern, impediance )if I used some of the tall electric fence insulators around the parimeter of the building?

3)Can I connect the ground lug on the FC-40 to the building? How about connecting it to the antenna as a loop?

4) Any better ideas?

I am very new to HF so any held is appriciated.

73's
Herb    KC5HMC
W3LK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2006, 06:41:57 AM »

A much better solution would be to make sure the roof panels are electrically connected together and install a vertical in the middle of the roof. You have an excellent, built-in ground plane there.

My choice would be a Butternut HF6V or HF9V, but the Hustler series is good as well, and is cheaper.

If you put any wire antenna around or on that metal roof, the net effect will be same as placing it at ground level. You would need to get it at least 25-30 feet above the roof before the roof stopped detuning the antenna.

I would not try to load up the roof as the antenna

Lon - W3LK
Baltimore, Maryland

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
KC5HMC

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2006, 07:29:31 AM »