Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wireless network routers  (Read 1403 times)
KC0LTV
Member

Posts: 26




Ignore
« on: September 14, 2006, 06:39:24 PM »

Does anybody here have any experience with wireless network routers in the ham shack?  My sister downstairs is getting a computer soon, and she will likely use my internet connection through a wireless network card.  Do you know of any 2.4 GHz or 5.8 GHz models that DO NOT generate horrible spurious emissions all over the ham / shortwave / broadcast bands?  The WildBlue modem already is enough of a problem.  Thank you for any suggestions!
Logged
N5YPJ
Member

Posts: 642




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2006, 07:18:44 PM »

I'm using a LinkSYS WRT54G and don't have any interference from it, wish I could say the same about my wild blue equipment. I go wired when I can. This router is all that was available at wally world, I use it wired for PCs and wireless for the PDA.

Good Luck.
Logged
K7PEH
Member

Posts: 1124




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2006, 07:28:53 PM »

I have a linksys router base router and two apple wireless routers (linked together in base and remote) and I have never had any problems one way or the other.  No interference into the wireless network and no interference from the wireless to the ham radio equipment.
Logged
K8AC
Member

Posts: 1477




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2006, 08:04:22 PM »

Linksys wireless router here - never a problem.  No interference on any band from 160 through 6 and it never hiccups when I'm running 1500 out on 160 through 10.  Had problems with Netgear wireless router - switching power supply in wall wart generated garbage everywhere.  
Logged
KG6WLS
Member

Posts: 507




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2006, 02:58:17 PM »

Same here. None what so ever.

73
Mike
Logged
KD8BVJ
Member

Posts: 184




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2006, 08:54:13 AM »

My Toshiba wireless router that is supplied by Time Warner works fine

          73
Logged
N5YPJ
Member

Posts: 642




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2006, 10:11:07 AM »

.....And since winding a choke balun right under my ground plane, I don't hear the interference from my WildBlue equipment.
Logged
WA4MJF
Member

Posts: 1003




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2006, 12:19:58 PM »

Linksys here and no problems.

73 de Ronnie
Logged
N4ABA
Member

Posts: 44




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2006, 08:20:05 AM »

I started with a Belkin wireless router....RFI all over 6m and 10m.  Couple of spurs on 17m as well.  Picked up a Netgear model WGT624 v3 and so far no interference.  The Belkin, with ferrites all over the place, was S9++ in some areas.  This is the twin antenna version....sorry, don't have the model number any longer.

Andrew
N4ABA
Logged
N4MJG
Member

Posts: 506


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2006, 06:48:07 PM »

same here no problem i had it since 2005 of last year now running 3 pc's 2 in my bedroom and one for my father.like i said no problem,you are safe !


73
Jackie
KG4ORX
Website  http://webpages.charter.net/kg4orx/
Logged
K3AN
Member

Posts: 787




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2006, 05:33:33 AM »

Using a Netgear wireless router here with no problems.
Logged
KF6IIU
Member

Posts: 293




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2006, 02:11:59 PM »

I have an old Linksys BEFW-something or other. It is somewhat noisy on 7 and 14 MHz but the noise is radiated from the active (100 Mbit) ethernet cables, not the device itself. Toroid chokes on the ethernet cables cut it way down.

Some ethernet PHY chipsets are terrible, dunno about Gig-E. I can hear the builtin ethernet on my old Intel CA810 P-3 mobo a block away on HF. I disabled it and use a PCI card instead.
Logged
W5CPT
Member

Posts: 557




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2006, 09:56:38 AM »

The only problem you might have is not from the Router but from the Power Supply (Wall Wart).  Some of the ones being supplied today are switching supplies and can be as electrically noisy as all get out.  Make sure you get a linear power cube and it will be fine.

Clint - W5CPT
Logged
K6SGH
Member

Posts: 15


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: October 04, 2006, 04:04:03 PM »

I have been using a linksys for a couple of years. The newer 802.11G have slightly higher power and work a little better...but not yet better enough for me to upgrade. A couple of recommendations:

1. if your router/accesspoint is across the house and possbily behind a few walls, either build or purchase a yagi style directional antenna.

2. my shack is across the house and i use a usb antenna. I have noticed that the signal strength can differ substantially with only a few inches movement of the antenna from any point. so i use a program called NETSTUMBLER which has a signal strength meter in it to adjust the positioning of my antenna. sometimes i can move the antenna 2 inches and have zero signal, so the signal strength meter is essential for me.  You can download (free) NetStumbler at: http://www.netstumbler.com/downloads/  either version works. I use the light version.  

steve, k6sgh
Logged
VA2AEQ
Member

Posts: 21




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2006, 01:54:01 PM »

I personally use an Apple Aiport Express. It works well with no real interference at HF.  When I boot up my laptop, my wireless card sees 3 different networks.  No discernable noise from any.

Dave....
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!