Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't decide between FT-857D and FT-897D  (Read 1538 times)
ALLENCB

Ignore
« on: January 21, 2007, 04:05:37 PM »

I've read reviews, specs, and eham posts till I'm crosseyed, but I still can't decide.

I'm studying for my General and want to buy a radio that will let me operate in a variety of modes and bands.  I've narrowed it down to these two.  My space is limited, so multiple radios or a traditional "base" station isn't going to happen.  At the moment, I know I'm going to operate from home and "in the field" (camping, etc).  I might operate mobile since I'll be taking a few long (15hr) road trips this year.  

I like how the 897 can pack it's own batteries, but the price premium will cover external AGM batteries for the 857 (the batteries, charger, and AC converter for the 897 is muy pricey).  

Is there any reason from an operational perspective that would make one better than the other?  What does it mean when someone makes the claim that these radios have a "high noise floor"?  

Chris
KI4POT
ONAIR

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2007, 01:20:16 AM »

The 897 is bigger, and the controls are easier to operate with ones fingers.
ALLENCB

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2007, 03:19:10 AM »

Yeah, I kinda figured that one out on my own.  HiHi

I'm concerned with things like the TCXO9 that the 897 has.  Does that make a difference in "the real world".  Based on my reading, it's helps maintain frequency stability in wide temperature shifts.  Since I plan on operating outdoors, would that be useful or is it just another marketing point for Yaesu?

Chris
KI4POT
N5EAT

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2007, 05:15:52 AM »

The TXCO will probably make a difference. However, I have both radios and they are both very stable.  I never have to tune my 857 because it has drifted off some signal i'm listening to.