Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FT-450 HF/6m transceiver with IF DSP  (Read 2361 times)
NR9R
Member

Posts: 147




Ignore
« on: March 24, 2007, 12:03:00 PM »

Hello all:

Universal Radio is now taking orders for the new FT-450 to be shipped in late April:

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamhf/0450.html

Some notable features include a 10 kHz roofing filter and 400 MHz IF DSP--no optional analog filters.  It is also priced at a modest $969.95 for orders taken in advance.  

Has anybody come accross any insider information regarding this transceiver.  I am intruiged but I can't even find a sales brochure.  Yaesu doesn't even have mention of it on their website.  

Anthony
AA9OC
Logged
NR9R
Member

Posts: 147




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2007, 12:08:56 PM »

I have come across a preliminary manual for the transceiver:

http://blog.big-dutch.com/images/ft-450.pdf
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12639




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2007, 04:21:41 PM »

I believe the DSP works in the last IF at 24KHz, not
400MHz.
Logged
NR9R
Member

Posts: 147




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2007, 07:19:33 PM »

You are probably right about WHERE the DSP is placed.  The manual indicates two IFs.  One at 67.9 MHz which passes through a 10kHz bandwidth roofing filter and another at 24MHz, where we would expect the DSP to be working.  

There is not much description in the manual about the DSP scheme itself, but my guess is that 400MHz refers to the speed of the processor, not the frequency of an IF stage (400MHz is a specification listed on the Universal Radio Website).

 
Logged
NR9R
Member

Posts: 147




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2007, 09:48:01 PM »

24 "kHz" rather
Logged
PU2VGA
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2007, 09:49:56 AM »

You will find a sales brochure here :

http://www.hamradio.co.uk/pdf/FT-450.pdf

73 - Eduardo
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12639




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2007, 05:36:44 PM »

That's marketing. Giving the clock speed as 400MHz sound more powerful than saying it works at 24KHz. :-)
Logged
NR9R
Member

Posts: 147




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2007, 10:11:25 PM »

As luck would have it, I actually had a chance to play with one of these for a few minuets at the AES Superfest in Milwaukee.  I have been looking at the TS-480SAT for a while but wanted to find more info on this rig.  My impressions so far are that it is a pretty simple no-frills radio.  The functions were pretty intuitive, I didn't have to enter a menu mode to do any of the standard operating adjustments.  Before even seeing a QST review on the basic performance there are a few things that make the TS-480SAT more appealing though.  I am a CW operator and the DSP passband only goes to 500Hz in CW.  For me this offers no advantage over an analog transceiver which could be fitted with a 250 Hz filter.  Also, the single 10 kHz roofing filter is of no consequence in CW.  If it where switchable even to 5kHz I think I would have been very impressed.  Another thing I didn't like is that there is one 1/8" key jack and it is in the front of the radio.  The TS-480SAT has a separate paddle and key jack which is a big plus for computer interfacing.  

To conclude, my superficial impressions so far have not blown me away.  If it comes back with really great IMD dynamic range testing and super smooth QSK then I will give it a second look.

AA4PB, can you elaborate on your interpretation of these numbers?  Is it bad for the DSP to operate at 24 kHz?  How do they compare to the ratings in the IC-756PROIII for example.

Anthony
Logged
K4CMD
Member

Posts: 99




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2007, 12:56:04 PM »

Ugly little critter, ain't it?

Smiley
Logged
K3PH
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2007, 10:26:11 AM »

The preliminary manual seems to indicate that it cannot do FSK, only AFSK.  I find that disappointing.  Even the IC-718 can do FSK.
Logged
NR9R
Member

Posts: 147




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2007, 02:49:09 PM »

I am still curious about this transceiver.  I have an FT-840 and I really like the simplicity of it.  After having a chance to play with the FT-450 at AES Milwaukee again here is my conclusion: I think it is to expensive.  I don't think it competes well with the TS-570SG, TS-480SAT, or IC-706MKIIG which are in the same price class.  It just lacks the features.  I do think that it would be a great choice if the price comes down by $200 or so which usually happends after the newness factor wears off.  Or at the least, start to include the tuner as standard equipment.

Yeasu, are you reading?

Anthony
Logged
WV4I
Member

Posts: 136




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2007, 03:12:43 AM »

The product brochure, poster, and ops manual are now on Vertex Standard website.

There is also a Yahoo FT-450 users' group up and running.

Only known issues with radio so far is that some need a SMD cap removed for a xmt audio hum, and availability of a 10 pin mini DIN plug.

Best prices I've seen/heard are fm Universal and Ham City which other dealers will usually match.

Love the radio. Price vs features and performance? Cheap is better, free is best, but FT-450AT easily compares to IC-746 Pro, the latter costing plus $400 more, IMHO. The TS-480SAT has AF based DSP,,,, but sounds more CAT friendly, if that's a consideration. Don't know of any CAT programs out there yet for FT-450AT, but sure they're on the way?
Logged
2E0BSS
Member

Posts: 85




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2007, 12:09:35 PM »

The new FT-450 looks ok not as nice as the 847, sadly deleted and hard to get hold of at a reasonable price.

Can the 450 go QRP power levels? I'm guessing it must be able to run 30 or so watts for top band I  don't seem to be getting a straight answer My local stockist says yes, today in belguim I got told no it can't go to lower powers and the brochure doesn't say it can it seems the radio can just run 100watts.

Charlotte 2E0BSS
Logged
M1MBZ
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2007, 02:38:13 PM »

You can download the manual from yaesu.com, it shows it's output power is adjustable from 5 to 100 watts.

Logged
M0SAY
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: September 03, 2008, 04:27:41 AM »

yes the out put power can turn from 5 watts to 100 no probs david
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!