Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Overseas Travel, Equipment Suggestions  (Read 660 times)
KJ4LNL

Ignore
« on: May 17, 2009, 06:14:51 PM »

I know this sounds so cliche on this site but what the heck!

Here's the proverbial line " I am new to HAM radio and I need some advice"...LOL

As mentioned above, I just passed my General level and finishing up my Extra class next month. I plan on traveling overseas (Asia) and will be bringing radios home with me. I've already decided 2M for home base and vehicle communications along with 2M HTs for personal local use.

I have also checked with my countrys HAM operators and will have to have a Reciprocal Permit in order for me to operate back home, not to mention that I have to let the government there know what gear I am taking home with me (or it would get confiscated).

I know folks have their preferences with certain manufacturers - Yaesu, Kenwood, Icom etc. I passed my Tech last month, my General yesterday and still yet to pick a radio so I am doing my homework.

I will be operating in a tropical region that has a rainy season 6 months out of the year. My system requirements are as follows:

- Reliability/ Ruggedness
- Easy operation but have useful bells and whistles
- Portability
- no more than 100 watts amplifier
- priced no more than $1,200
- Frequency of interest - 10,20,40,60 meters

I also have to mention that I do not have the luxury of transporting Yagis or any long verticals with me which would lead me to either build or carry a wire antenna with me.

I am very technically inclined having an audio engineering background and great with troubleshoot and repair(hopefully not much repair).

To phrase it another way, which radios should I avoid knowing my requirements. Any input is highly appreciated.

Rey
WW5AA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 07:23:04 AM »